Summer! (TBR Summer 2017)

Hi, reader peeps!

image:

It’s summer (well, close enough) and I am putting together my summer reading list!

This is not a complete list of all the books I want to read and I hope I will read more than this. These are just some of the highlights for me. (click on the titles to go to Goodreads for descriptions)

Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

This one is new (not even out yet at the time of this post). I read the authors first book Made You Up and loved it. This one sounds like Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (which I LOVE SO VERY MUCH).

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

Lizzie Bennet

I started this one a few months ago at the suggestion of a like-minded bookworm. I love it so far and dare I say the writing style is more enjoyable than Jane Austen? But it is a rather thick book. The last two classics I read were Les Miserables and The Count of Monte Cristo and both took over a year. I don’t want to spend that long with War and Peace.

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

The conclusion to glorious Russian-inspired fantasy trilogy (with firebirds and sea monsters!!!). I’ve read the first two books of the Grisha trilogy and I am looking forward to finally finishing it.

Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow

This is the biography that inspired Lin Manuel Miranda to create Hamilton. I don’t want to read it until I’m done with War and Peace, though. I think that would be too much historical/factual all at once for me.

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

This is a contemporary romance about two Indian teens whose parents have arranged marriage for them. I’ve heard it’s absolutely adorable and so good to the point that I have preordered it (it comes out the same day as Eliza and Her Monsters— May 30th– which I have also preordered).

the Lydia Bennet and the adorbs  |  comfort vlog: the lizzie bennett diaries and the taming of digital media | THE STATE

Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally

I read Breathe, Annie, Breathe in less than 24 hours. The author writes YA romances with sports and they are cute and light and good for days when you really just want to read fluff.

The Crown by Kiera Cass

I love The Selection series (though admittedly, I usually just skim through the political war bits and read the romance) and I love the second series (the ones twenty years after the first ones) more than the original. The Crown is the last one. Cue fangirl tears of the end of a series.

And that’s it! What books are you wanting to read this summer? Tell me all about them in the comments!

"Lizzie Bennet Diaries" Appreciation Gif-Blog:

Kate out.

3 thoughts on “Summer! (TBR Summer 2017)

  1. I can confirm that Dimple & Rishi is SO EXTRAORDINARILY CUTEEEEEE! 😍 And I’m super excited about Eliza and her Monsters for all the reasons you are. 😂 And like Made You Up was just so good??? I am so excited. *shrieks from the hilltops* I’m planning to read ALL THE BOOKS…although it’s not summer for me.😂 But on my relatively-soon-to-consume TBR I have Lord of Shadows (afjdksaldf 😍😍) and The Ship BEyond Time, and Spellslinger!

  2. Ooh, do post your thoughts on War and Peace when you’re finished with it. I always love reading classics – one I plan to tackle this summer is Candide by Voltaire. I spent nine months on Les Miserables, though I thoroughly enjoyed it! How about you?

    Eliza and Her Monsters is on my TBR, too! I also need to finish the Grisha trilogy this summer, though I’ve only read Shadow and Bone. Other books I’m planning to read include Note to Self by Connor Franta, The House on the Strand by Daphne du Maurier, and Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh.

    Ellie | On the Other Side of Reality

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

