Updates on Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness

Hello, reader-peeps.

Image result for marshmallow peeps diorama contest
We’re off to see the wizard!

I’ve been doing a lot recently. And I thought that it might make a good blog post to tell you some of the things I am doing. (None of these are New Year’s Resolutions, even though they sound like it.)

I’m watching how many carbohydrates I consume a day.

I’m aiming to eat no more than 100 carbs a day. There are health reasons for this, but the main goal is to lose some weight which will help with the other things. Eating less carbs means eating less bread and sugar, mostly. Breakfast time is difficult. Cold cereal is almost completely out. Forget bagels, unless they are mini-bagels or only a half. So breakfast has been mostly eggs with something that doesn’t have many carbs. The only other problem I’ve had with this diet is that I’m hungry a lot. Hopefully that will subside over time. In the mean time, cheese and peanut butter are my friends.

I’m exercising.

This goes with the last point. We have an elliptical and I have been doing 15 minutes on it a day (except today, oops). It’s been… exerting? Which is the point. But since all I have to do is turn on music and start walking, it’s not that bad.

I’m blogging!

See? See I am blogging! šŸ˜›

I’m driving!

And I’m getting much better. Hopefully before too long, I will have a license and a job!

I’m reading!

I just finished Save the Cat by Blake Snyder and it is the best book on writing technique that I’ve read (and the only one I’ve read all the way through). I’m currently reading Stephen King’sĀ On Writing, which is have writing book and half memoir. It’s been good so far. I’m also reading Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.Ā I watched the movie in December when I spent a week in Bloomington with Lily J. I enjoyed it so I thought I might enjoy the book as well. Though, I have to wonder as I read it, was this book conceived because of a love for the original Pride and PrejudiceĀ or was it hatred for it? Was it a matter of “I can write better than this junk!” or “This is awesome! I wonder what it’d be like with zombies…”? Or was it a dare? A punishment?

If I ever meet the author, I’m asking him.

One thing I’m not doing is writing.

At least for today.

The story I was working on didn’t work out. I don’t have any other plot bunnies begging for my attention.

I seem to go through a lot of plot bunnies before finding the ones that work. Sometimes, this is okay with me because I have another plot bunny that seems better and I immediately go into that one. But this time, there are no plot bunnies.

I think I need to refill my creative bank. So I’m reading. And watching Netflix. And listening to music. I’m exposing myself to stories.

And I’m praying. I know I would not be an author if God had not given me the desire to be one. He has given me plot bunnies since I was littleĀ and didn’t even know what plot bunnies were. So, I’m going to pray and trust that God will give me inspiration when He sees fit and not a moment before. I can’t waste time and brain energy worrying that I will never have another good idea again.

Tell me what you’re up to. Have you read or watched P&P&Z? Know any good egg recipes? What do you do when your plot bunny farm becomes dangerously quiet? Let me know in the comments below!

Kate out.

2 thoughts on “Updates on Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness

  1. Good for you for eating healthier and exercising! That’s something I’m always trying to do better at…
    My family gave up sugars, grains, dairy, and legumes for a month two Januarys ago and I was hungry all of the time because I didn’t have any carbs in my diet. I found that by giving up processed sugar, I lost weight and was healthier both physically and mentally. Since most unhealthy carbs (like breakfast cereal and white bread) have sugar in them anyway, I cut those out; but, by eating potatoes and healthy, grainy breads, I was staying full because I was still getting the carbs I needed. I once wrote a blog post about sugar that might interest you: http://agwerff.blogspot.com/2016/05/why-ive-stopped-eating-sugar.html
    Oooo, I’d love to know what you think of “On Writing” when you finish it! It’s on my to-read list. One of my favorite “how-to-write” books is “On Writing Well” by William Zinsser. It’s more focused on essay-writing than on fiction, but I found the advice helpful for my novels, too!
    Hopefully, since spring is nigh, your bunnies with birth new ideas to you soon!

    • Thank you, Abbey! šŸ˜€
      I will let you know what I think of On Writing. Right now, it is amazing and makes me want to read Stephen King’s fiction (but I don’t do horror so… oops?).
      Haha! I hope you’re right.Baby plot bunnies would be very welcome. šŸ™‚

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

