Yo-Ho, Yo-Ho, A Writer’s Life For Me

Hi, reader-peeps.

I think I have quit NaNo.

Which is the first time I’ve ever done that.

Related imageWhy?

There are quite a few reasons, actually.

It just sort of happened is a good reason. I didn’t mean to quit NaNo, but at some point, I got stuck and then kinda stopped caring about it.

I have been behind since Day 2.

My current word count is under 10K. Which… the word count never mattered.

Lack of sanity. Or maybe that’s lack of insanity.

Image result for jack sparrow gifs what?

I choose no more tears, headaches, and overdose of caffeine this month. I am not going to make myself miserable.

I choose to step back and work through plot holes instead of forcing them to move with word vomit.

I choose quality over quantity.

I chose to spend time with my grandmother and aunt, both of whom I love dearly, who were here for only a few days.

I am lonely. In the years of NaNoWriMo leading up to this one, word wars and fun conversations and encouragement from friends were always there and this year, they aren’t. Now, I know people are busy and stuff, so they can’t do NaNo or whatever. I get that.

But for me, without friends, NaNoWriMo has lost it’s magic. And for me, NaNo has always been a tradition of positive peer pressure to write. Without the peers positively pressuring me, it’s kind of pointless.

Image result for jack sparrow gifs

Related image

I know a lot of people are against saying they have “quit” something. I’m not going to sugarcoat this or anything and say that I am “resigning” or “withdrawing myself”.

I have quit.

And now, I plan to spend the rest of the month enjoying my baby sister’s birthday, Thanksgiving, however many times my oldest sister’s boyfriend shows up, watching Gilmore Girls on Netflix, getting ready for Christmas, and writing at my own pace with no pressure, learning to love this story.

Related image

Image result for jack sparrow gifs bring me that horizon

Kate out.

6 thoughts on “Yo-Ho, Yo-Ho, A Writer’s Life For Me

  1. Quitting is underrated. The only time I finished NaNoWriMo was in the year of 2012; I’d assumed we’d all be dead in a month, so I decided to make it count.

    The key to writing — and life, I suppose — is to lower your expectations. Set the bar low enough and you’ll never be disappointed. 🙂

    –This has been an important life lesson from renowned philosopher Matthew Black. Each lesson comes with a fee of $13.99, whether you asked for it or not.

  2. Quality over quantity is a crucial factor that I think of lot of NaNoWriMo, for all its benefits, often fails to emphasize. I recently quit, too, though for a number of other reasons. In any case, I wish you writerly good vibes with the story, at your own pace.

  3. Oh gosh, it’s funny that I read this, because I’ve been trying to come to terms with the fact that… I didn’t just quit Nano, I completely gave up on my novel. I didn’t have the passion for it. It wasn’t the novel I thought I was writing, and I got bored, and I have way too much stress in my life (finals are the week after Thanksgiving), and I didn’t want to do it.

    So I stopped at a measly 16k.

    Meanwhile, I’ll spend the rest of the month working on an unrelated novel and enjoying myself (well, as much as one can, while being in college).

    Also, the rest of your November sounds awesome. Can I join in? I should come into the chatroom sometime this week, if I can…

  4. I think you made a good choice, and you decided to do what you felt most comfortable with. I don’t see any shame in quitting something that just doesn’t work for you, either. I’m going to push through to the end and hopefully I break that 50k barrier. But if not, I’ll be very proud with what I did accomplish. Quality is so important to me that I can’t just set it aside for a whole month, totally agreed.

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

