The Editing Diaries–All the Force of a Great Typhoon (or The End?)

Welcome to my series, The Editing Diaries!

In a nutshell, I’m editing my story LASER and bringing you guys along for the ride. I want you to see how my process for editing novels works (and maybe I’ll figure out my process with you). So, buckle your seatbelts, we’re going on a trip!

~~~~~~~~~~

Hi, reader-peeps.

I got 5 out of 12 points! How Well Do You Know ’90s Disney Movies? | Oh My Disney:
Imma feed you all. You get porridge! And it’s HAPPY TO SEE YOU!

I’ve said a few times that I have been writing for over ten years. I realized recently that that particular statement is not the entire truth. While it is true that I do indeed consider the beginning of my writing journey to be in about 2004, I have been only writing with writing craft in mind for 3 years.

That’s right. THREE years.

I learned how to critique in about July of 2013. I was a beta-reader for the first time in August of 2013. I “edited” a story over the course of the next 9 months. I have finished two first drafts since August of 2014.

Wait, how many?

TWO.

2

The Number After One.

What Your Favorite Disney Princess Says About You - Which Disney Princess Are You - Cosmopolitan

Is this a bad thing, Katie?

No. Of course not. It’s actually a good thing.

It’s just not a lot.

Hemingway is credited with a quote that says “We are all apprentices in a craft in which we will never be masters.” (I may have mangled that a bit…). When you’re a writer, you don’t stop learning. But there are different levels of experience.

And I’m not sure that I am at the level I thought I was. I thought I was ready to query. Or thought that LASER was almost ready. At least one of those things is not true. LASER is going to need more work. I could probably use some more teaching myself.

gifs mulan - Buscar con Google

What are you saying, Katherine?

I’m putting LASER aside for now.

I don’t know how long that’s going to be. Could be a few months. Could be a few years. Could be forever. Or it could be just a few months.

This is the end of The Editing Diaries. Or at least it’s going on hiatus for a while. Mainly because I don’t have anything to edit (or anything that I want to edit).

What’s the plan then?

I’m going to write. Just write. Nothing LASER- related. Maybe the next novel will be something that I can work into getting it ready for publication. Or the one after. Or some novels down the road. But right now, I’m just going to write. Just focus on telling a story and having fun. The thing about writing is that you get better by doing it. Will I ever be a perfect writer? No. But can I come close? I hope so.

Mastering The Art of Flying

So, I’m going to write and have fun and maybe lock my internal editor out of the metaphorical house because she’s being a bit annoying.

Is this the last you’ll hear of LASER? I doubt it. I still have a few characters who never got to be interviewed with the Beautiful People tag. And one day, maybe I’ll take LASER out of it’s document and salvage the good stuff and throw out the dross and continue to make it lovely. Or I’ll just hide it away.

To all the people who beta-read or are still beta-reading, thank you. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, even now; your notes are helping me figure out what I still need to work on. Hopefully, next time, I’ll be able to send you a story that doesn’t need quite so much work.

To my precious alphas, thank you for the encouragement to keep writing in spite of all this and for being the shoulders I cry on when writing is hard. You guys are the best of friends and I thank God for each of you.

Disney - http://disney.abafu.net/disney/disney-48

And now…

Death or Story!

Mulan training as ping. *knife hand* *duck* *spinning outside crescent kick*

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Editing Diaries–All the Force of a Great Typhoon (or The End?)

  1. First, I love that all the GIFs are Mulan-themed. I love that movie.

    That must be a hard decision, but it sounds like it’s a good choice. And I can say that just spending time writing freely actually will work wonders. I spent almost all of 2015 editing one project, and then I set it aside for a bit, and so most of this year, I’ve spent just working on another project. It’s been slow, and I admit that after eight months of (mostly) free-writing, I still only have 40k written for that novel, but it’s been SO AMAZING. When I compare the two projects to each other, there’s a huge difference and it’s almost hard to believe the improvement has come from over less than a year.

    So basically, GO KATIE AND GOOD LUCK!

  2. Oh, it’s so hard to put away a project that you’ve worked on for so long! I can’t imagine how difficult this decision was for you. Hopefully some time away will help you re-focus LASER. I know that when I take breaks from my writing, I always come back to it with a fresh perspective.
    Have fun writing new material!

  3. Ooh, good luck with your new project whatever it may be! And I toootally understand laying aside books *nods* I do that all the time tbh. and funnily enough, the series I started when I was 15 (and really what got me started writing!) I’m now coming back to with soooo many rewrites in mind. NOTHING IS EVER WASTED IN THE WRITING LIFE. And we learn so so much the more we write. Every year I look back at my writing and go “omg I thought I was good hahhhaa” Which is kind of encouraging that we keep improving, right?!
    EPIC MULAN APPRECIATION IN THIS POST.

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

