Why I Don’t Write Book Reviews Often

You know what’s hard for me, reader-peeps?

Writing book reviews.

.
But they might not review.

If you’ve been around here for long, you will notice that I do not post many book reviews. I could probably count the book reviews I’ve done on this blog with one hand.

(If you haven’t been here for a long time, welcome! So glad to have you here!)

And it’s not that I don’t want to review books for you guys. That would actually be kind of awesome and fun. And since I, at least partially, fall under the category of “Book Blogger”, it probably would be a good thing for this blog, too.

So what’s the problem?

I have a small list of problems, actually.

1.I don’t know how.

Community Post: Proof That "The Princess And The Frog" Is One Of The Most Underrated Disney Movies Ever

It’s not so much that I don’t know how to write a review as it is I don’t know how to make it exciting and fun. I mean, a lot of people review books, but how many do you know that write fun reviews? I could write a review telling you what went down in the book– but then, what’d be the point? You could just read the book and it’d be much less boring.

Cait from Paper Fury writes amazing reviews, full of snark and GIFs and telling you exactly what she liked and disliked about any given book. Hers are reviews I read twice– once before I’ve read the book to see if it’s a book I want to read and once after I’ve read the book so I can share in her fangirling.

Which kind of brings me to the next point:

2. I’m not always sure how to pinpoint exactly what I liked and disliked.

literally me writing

This is true even when I fangirl with friends about a book I just read. I know there are parts I liked and disliked, but sometimes it takes someone else specifically mentioning those things before I can say “OMW YES THAT WAS AN AMAZING PLOT TWIST!!!”.

I am slowly learning how to be more analytical. It’s been a process for the last 3-ish years. But my analytical skills are more of when I’m reading to edit or help someone else edit. I’m not going to edit a published book and I’m probably not going to make notes about things that need to be fixed as I’m reading.

Would making notes help me write better reviews? Probably. Would that also maybe suck out some of the fun of reading? I sincerely hope not, because now I want to try this.

giphy.gif (245×150)

Subpoints:

2.2. Things I liked or disliked are not always logically explained.

"I had a point..."   THATS IT THIS IS ME 200% OF THE TIME

I can absolutely love a book filled with plot holes. I can absolutely hate a book everyone else loves and deems “perfect”.

I know part of that is my own opinion and what I’ve liked and disliked before. I know part of that is how the author wrote the book. I know part of it is how I go into the book– did all my friends love it? have I been waiting for this forever? Am I so absolutely in love with the premise? Do I even know what the premise is?

But whether or not I like a book is not necessarily based on the quality of a book.

2.5 Writing a review for someone’s book and I know they will see it…

 

Being part of the writing community is awesome. Writing reviews for your friends’ books, which is a rare occurrence for me but still happens, is less awesome…

You want to be honest. But you don’t want don’t want to admit that there were parts you disliked (especially if you can’t pinpoint why you disliked them) because you don’t want to hurt feelings. But you want to promote your friend’s work. But you want to be honest.

Aaaah, there's a leek on the boat! > Iguana • 2 years ago Well I don't carrot all.

Moving on.

3. I manage to write a review with things I like and dislike and specific things… and it’s only 100 words long.

important facepalm gif

If you’ve been around here for long (deja vu, anyone?) you know that my writing tends toward conciseness. I say what I have to say and that’s it. Same with novels– the first draft of LASER was 38K. That’s barely a novel at all.

(gifs) Maybe you should listen to your own advice, Lizzie. Darcy sure did.

I’m not saying I need to write an essay about each and every book I read, but 100 words is kind of smallish. I like to think I’m getting better at expounding but it’s still hard.

So, that’s basically my list of why I don’t write book reviews that often.

Speaking of book reviews, here’s a lovely post by Cait of 10 Ten Things Book Bloggers Should Not Be Worrying About. And you should really go read a few of her reviews on Goodreads, because, as already stated, they are fabulous.

Any tips? Anyone think I’m a lost cause? Do you take notes when you read? How do you guys write reviews? How do you balance fangirling and writing a coherent review? What are you reading now? And how is your writing going, peeps? Lemme know in the comments!

(Also, looking for new ways to finish up a blog post. It’s a work in progress…)

6 thoughts on “Why I Don’t Write Book Reviews Often

  1. the thing i learned about writing reviews is to just be comfortable with how you write them. you don’t have to be funny or, conversely, you don’t have to be analytical; it’s about YOU. i learned early on that i’m a pretty analytical and direct reviewer (very x+y=z type) and that’s okay, because people liked my reviews anyway. when i have moments of humor, yeah, i insert them into my reviews, but i’m no cait, that’s for sure. it’s about being comfortable with and confident in yourself. people spew all this crap like “know your audience and write to them”–but in reality, i think a good writer writes for *themself* and their product shows that it came from their heart and even if people cat *relate* to the product, they can *appreciate* it. it’s the same with reviews. write from the heart (or as a fangirl might say, “write from the feels!*).

  2. I have the same problem! I can give my general opinion of a book, but I cannot put into details specific things that made me feel that way about it. And Enjolras! He’s amazing. Thanks for putting that gif in, it made me really happy. 🙂

  3. Omg *blushes* YOU ARE THE SWEETEST BEAN OF EVER THOUGH BECAUSE THIS POST MADE ME SMILE SO MUCH. ❤ And eeeeeep you read my reviews twice?! YOU PRECIOUS CREATURE.
    Ahem. SO. I do think that one doesn't need to review books if they still want to be a book blogger.😂 It's more just about liking books, petting books, reading books, being a book. Ya know. Flexible stuff like that. And honestly if you don't WANT or like to write reviews…then definitely don't worry about it! I used to write like 100-word reviews and now look at me….THEY ARE LIKE 1,000 WORDS AND SOMEONE PLEASE TELL ME TO SHUT UP. *dies* So I think the more you do something the better you get at it. But omg reviewing books for people you know? NOT GOOD.😂 I mean, unless you love and adore the book. But I feel sooooo bad listing any negatives. I basically just never read books by my friends which is probably also bad of me hahahah. OH DEAR. The reviewing life is far too complicated. Where is my cake.

  4. It’s hard critiquing someone’s work and struggling with reviews is hard as well. When it comes to my reviews. I have a few overall impressions about the writing in general, then I have some things that just don’t make sense, and some things I loved. I try to read with a close eye like an editor, but in the broad scope (no one is going to want to read a page by review of what I think).

  5. I used to have the same problem. I was scared and worried about writing reviews because it just ended up being this rant that made no sense and was too wordy. But, I just kept on writing… My first book reviews were really rubbish. But now, I’m so confident with it I wrote a post called ‘How To Write A Good Book Review?’. Even though there’s no correct way , it’s just some tips. I’m still learning about book blogging and this was a great post!

  6. I find it so difficult to write reviews as well. It’s so hard to word my thoughts and explain them well without rambling at the same time. YES it’s so difficult reviewing books of people you know because I always want to be honest but sometimes that can end up seeming mean 😦 I definitely think you can improve over time and the more you do it!! Love this post – I related with it so much 😀

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

