The Editing Diaries–The Beginning of the End

Welcome to my series, The Editing Diaries!

In a nutshell, I’m editing my story LASER and bringing you guys along for the ride. I want you to see how my process for editing novels works (and maybe I’ll figure out my process with you). So, buckle your seatbelts, we’re going on a trip!

~~~~~~~~

Salutations, reader-peeps.

So, nearly all of my beta-readers have LASER in their possession.

Which is exciting. But it has also occurred to me that editing while they have it is somewhat pointless.

.

I can’t fix what mistakes I catch and keep sending them updated drafts. That would be crazy.

So… I’m not editing right now.

Thank God I have other writing projects to work on while I’m not editing. For whatever reason, if I don’t have a writing project at any given time, I go nuts. Can’t focus. Start worrying that my last project was indeed my last project forever (especially when plot bunnies aren’t being compliant).

But I do have two more projects going and I’m looking forward to revealing those sometime within the next couple of months.

Also, I need to start getting a query letter for LASER together.

Which makes me realize just how close to the end of all this that I am.  I mean, once I get beta-feedback and revise and get a query letter together, this stage in LASER‘s life is over. It’ll be time to move on and query and get published, if at all possible.

It’ll be time to move on to something else.

Which… I kind of already have moved on. At least, I have started to.

Again, I really want to reveal my new stuff. But if you’ve been around this blog for long, you will know that I can’t talk about new projects without losing momentum.

Treasure Planet gif. "Zip your howling screamer."
My internal struggle.

Anyway.

So, short post. But an important one, I think.

On another random note, the YAvengers writing blog is recruiting again! They’re looking for more writers to pretend to be Marvel superheroes while they write about writing.

Click to open all the way, side by side of Tom and Chris Evans doing the same scene. gifs

 

So, take a look if you’re interested. Or not. The form is open until July 1st.

Now then…

Let’s go carpe the heck out of this diem.

Sure this movie got kind of overplayed but, seriously. The animation in Frozen was amazing! Especially in the let it go sequence, how the light reflected off the ice and stuff! Epic!

 

2 thoughts on “The Editing Diaries–The Beginning of the End

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

