Updates and Things

Hi, reader-peeps!

So, it’s been a couple weeks.

Long story short, I’ve been away on a top-secret, classified mission that is full of redundancy. All and every thing is redundant. And repeated.

can't argue with this! gif

Okay, I’ve just been uninspired and editing LASER.

Or have I??????

That look my friends and I give each other when we see someone in our class get in trouble

 

So. Editing is going well and fast. Well, was going fast. I had one day where I did seven chapters, but they didn’t need much. And then I promptly got stuck on a chapter that needs to be rewritten or trashed or both.

.

What else have I been doing?

Acquiring beta-readers (10 is quite enough I think… oops).

Lightly plotting my next project (I gotta do SOMETHING once I get done researching agents and still waiting on beta-feedback).

Stalking people on Tumblr.

Cleaning the house.

Playing Multiplayer Minecraft with a couple of my hobbits (and trying to get a server to work).

Wondering how I still don’t know what a side-charrie from my next project wants, even though I wrote the original in 2011.

(Next project is most likely a reboot, by the way. And I need to shut up about it now.)

Trying to come up with a new title for LASER. And I feel like I’m getting close. (Betas, if I haven’t figured it out by the time I send the story to you, I will probably draft you into helping ask for your help.)

Waiting for the release of The Raven KingΒ by Maggie Steifvater.

Nervicitied | pinkie-pie-nervicited:

And that’s about it!

So. What have you been up to?

Carpe the heck out of your diems!

 

10 thoughts on “Updates and Things

  1. Well, you’ve definitely been busy, looks like! I’ve been up to a lot of essays and traveling (woo study abroad, 50% travel 50% college, makes my mental schedule very confused!). Also, I’m almost done plotting SlavicNovel (phew!) and when that’s done I will be SO RELIEVED. That project was something I thought would go easier and take shorter than it did.

    I also suddenly had an errant plot bunny pop up a few days ago and now I have the beginnings of some worldbuilding and a vague main character and a title (!!!! I never have titles!!!!) for what will possibly be NaNovel 2016. So very exciting. It’s called The Mathemagicians. πŸ™‚

    (And if you are hoping I will help with a re-titling of LASER, see the above parenthesis. The chances of that are very minuscule, I warn you. But I will try.)

    RAVEN KINGGGGGG! I am so sad because I am in DENMARK on the release day which means I may have to disappear from twitter for a month until I can get my hands on a copy so that I can avoid spoilers. Ugh so inconvenient! I hope I can find a copy here in Copenhagen, and even though books are DEATHLY EXPENSIVE I will probably buy it because desperation calls. Though I’d really like to do a series reread in preparation but that’s obviously impossible. Oh the tragedy.

    • Sounds like you’ve been busy too! πŸ™‚
      I like that title! Mathemagicians sounds awesome! πŸ™‚
      SO INCONVENIENT. HOW DARE BOOKS BE SO EXPENSIVE IN COPENHAGEN. TRAGEDY INDEED.

  2. I had the weirdest dream last night in which I read The Raven King and found it incredibly disappointed. It’s strange because I don’t actually remember what happened in this dream-book of mine, just that it was terrible and that neither Ronan nor Adam even made an appearance. “How could you write a final installment in a series that doesn’t even feature two of the main characters?!” I yelled angrily into the dreamworld.

    When you mentioned The Raven King I found myself thinking, “Don’t bother, Katie, that book was terrible.” And then I remembered that the book had yet to be released and the real version of the book is probably much more magical and fulfilling, so this is a nice moment for me.

  3. I’m so nervicited about The Raven King too. *SCREAMS* I MEAN HOW ARE WE POSSIBLY SUPPOSED TO REMAIN CALM?!?!??!?!!? And everywhere I’m seeing people on instagram having already got their copies and I’m just –> 😭 😭 😭 I have preordered. I CAN SURVIVE TILL THEN. (Spoiler: no I can’t.)
    Ahem.
    Also good luck with the beta’ing and researching agent’ing!! πŸ˜€ EXCITING. And new titles? Oooh, extra exciting. πŸ˜€

    • *SCREAMS WITH YOU*
      I know! I preordered too! And I’m soooooooooo excited but how did people get early copies??? But we shall survive! Only five more days!!!
      THANK YOU. πŸ˜€ I’m excited about the agenting and editing and beta-ing stuff!

  4. Gosh I’ve been gone since forever. That’s what I get for getting jobs I guess. But…hiiiiiiiiiiii!!!!! Sounds exciting everything, and like a lot of work. But still exciting. Does this mean we get a book by you soonish!?

    • Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii!!!

      Oh yes, very exciting!!! I’m planning to pursue traditional publishing so I can’t say when exactly there will be one of my books available to all. But are you still available to beta? πŸ™‚

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

