Stuck On You– A Short Story

I go down to the dock at night. The water is dark. There is no moon tonight.

The salty sea spray hits me in the face like a kiss. A very salty kiss. Okay, that was nothing like a kiss. That was like getting hit in the face with salt water.

I’m waiting for him.

He said he would come to the dock. He said he would reveal himself. My secret admirer.

I have a hunch that it’s Josh, the other intern here at the aquarium. He’s a nice guy. Quiet. He spoke two whole words to me the other day.

They were “excuse me” as he reached past me to get something on the shelf.

Yeah, that shouldn’t count.

But it would make sense that he has been the one sending me messages. He just can’t get up the nerve to talk to me. So he sends messages to me at night.

In Morse code.

Okay, maybe I am jumping to conclusions. It may not be Josh. It could be Tucker.

Gosh, I hope it’s not Tucker.

Not that I don’t like Tucker. It’s just… this would be a prank to him. He wouldn’t seriously do this. Like that one time he paid for an advertisement for a fake contest. The contestants were supposed to do their best Donald Duck impression. Winner won one hundred dollars.

They were supposed to call me for the contest and do their best impression to me. For a week, I answered my phone and heard Donald Duck.

And then there was the time he rigged a trapdoor over the walrus tank…

I shudder at the memory and get back to thinking about my secret admirer. It started with a simple four dots and two dots.

Hi.

Over the past few weeks the message has turned into dot-dot, dot-dash-dot-dot, dash-dash-dash, dot-dot-dot-dash, dot, dash-dot-dash-dash, dash-dash-dash, dot-dot-dash.

I love you.

My message to him was the same.

We talked every night. The ocean is our passion. We both love crab meat. The sunset is the best and most beautiful time of day.

I sigh with happiness.

I look out over the water again. I see something come out of the water.

My admirer told me to brace myself. To expect something very unexpected.

I’m practically giddy as I watch this thing come out of the water. Is this it? Is this him?

No. It’s an octopus.

A very big octopus comes up out of the water and pulls itself onto the dock. I back up several steps.

This octopus is bigger than me.

Once up on the dock, it looks at me and doesn’t move.

I don’t move, either. I think about calling the animal rescue people who work with the aquarium.

The octopus starts slapping one of it’s tentacles on the wood.

It’s going to hurt itself. Definitely time to call animal rescue.

It keeps hitting.

Suddenly, the sound sounds familiar.

Dot-dot-dot-dot, dot-dot.

Hi.

There is no way.

I kneel down on the dock and knock on the wood. I ask him if he can understand me.

Dash-dot-dash-dash, dot, dot-dot-dot.

Yes.

I still can’t believe it, but the next question I tap out is asking him if he is my secret admirer.

Dash-dot-dash-dash, dot, dot-dot-dot.

Yes.

Dot-dot, dot-dash-dot-dot, dash-dash-dash, dot-dot-dot-dash, dot, dash-dot-dash-dash, dash-dash-dash, dot-dot-dash.

I love you. 

My admirer is an octopus that knows Morse code. He reaches out one of his tentacles and sets it on my cheek, one of the suckers on my face.

A kiss.

I can’t decide if I’m disgusted or just in love with him, too.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hi, reader-peeps!

Happy April Fool’s Day!

Hope you enjoyed my Kraken-romance story, inspired by this video by Maggie Stiefvater.

DFTBA!

 

 

8 thoughts on “Stuck On You– A Short Story

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

