The Editing Diaries–Isabella

Welcome to my series, The Editing Diaries!

In a nutshell, I’m editing my story LASER and bringing you guys along for the ride. I want you to see how my process for editing novels works (and maybe I’ll figure out my process with you). So, buckle your seatbelts, we’re going on a trip!

~~~~~~~~~~

Good day to you, my lovely reader-peeps!

I hope you all had a lovely Easter. I certainly did.

So! Editing update!

I am up to the midpoint! Sort of. It’s technically still pre-midpoint, I think, but things are going faster now and I’m more excited because stuff is happening. We are leading up to the midpoint and it is awesome!

Also, I started learning French because I completely underestimated how much I’d be using it with these few characters.

So. Having been a bit AWOL in the blogging department, I thought it was definitely time to post. And I decided to do the Beautiful People tag from this month and talk about my LASER MC, Isabella.

PAPERFURY

What first inspired this character? Is there a person/actor you based them off?

Isabella was actually in a book I wrote 4 1/2 years ago, but grown up and someone’s mother. Someone’s kidnapped mother, Percy Jackson-style. But Isabella didn’t get to be fierce and confident girl she is now until a rewrite of said previous book and then more so in her own story.

As for if there is a person I based her off of… not really. I wanted to write a kick-butt YA heroine and I wanted to write a Pride and Prejudice style romance for her. And while she does have a trait or two of mine, I didn’t base her off of me.

Describe their daily routine.

Wake up. Fight. Sleep.

That is really it. I don’t mean literally fight (though sometimes she does). I mean she faces the day, ready to take on whatever life throws at her and win (most of the time; if she were completely ready, there wouldn’t be romance here, I think).

Alternatively: Wake up. Train. Sleep.

If they joined your local high school, what clique would they fit into?

This is not a good question for a homeschooler to answer. And I’m hesitant to shove her into any one clique. Moving on.

Write a list of things they merely tolerate. Ex: certain people, foods, circumstances in their lives…

-The romantic attempts of one of her friends

-Being called Iz (she absolutely will not tolerate ‘Izzy’)

-Her brother leaving the milk jug out on the counter in the morning

-Sci-fi movies (she is not a Star Wars fan or a superhero fan)

-Her other friend’s matchmaking attempts (though she is just barely tolerant of that)

-Assigned reading (suddenly I’m starting to wonder if I’ve got yet another character who doesn’t read for fun that often)

How do they react in awkward silences?

Wait for the silence to be over.

Can they swim? If so, how did they learn?

I have never thought about this.

Yes, Isabella can swim. She probably learned  when she became a LASER apprentice when she was about 14 (I can totally see swimming as part of LASER’s academic requirements).

What is one major event that helped shape who they are?

When she started her LASER apprenticeship. LASER’s apprentice program is training for teens who might be interested in one day having a job with LASER, protecting humans from creatures of myth and legend. I think Isabella must have already been ambitious, but LASER probably helped her focus those ambitions. It possibly also made her more competitive. And she is very competitive.

What things do they value most in life?

Being the best. Her family. Her friends. Trust.

Do they believe in giving other people second chances? Do they have any trust issues?

I think so, yes. (And she certainly needs a lot of second chances herself…)

This whole book is about Izzy’s trust issues.

Your character is having a rough day…what things do they do to make them happy again? Is there anyone they talk/interact with to get in a better mood?

Isabella goes to her godmother’s house and talks to her. Talking to her godmother usually also involves eating cookies.

And that’s Izzy! You can find out more about her here, when I talked about her and her twin brother. Also, I updated LASER‘s blurb on the My Creations page.

How are all your writing projects going? Anyone doing Camp NaNo? 

Carpe the heck out of your diems!

4 thoughts on “The Editing Diaries–Isabella

  1. I always forget there are people who can’t swim. Like, normal people. I was learning to swim practically before I could walk, and could swim without help by the time I was four, so… Also, I live in Florida. My brother Noah was three when we moved here and couldn’t swim a lick. By the end of the summer (when he was three and a half), he was swimming like a little fish.

    Anyway. That was the most random and interesting question in this whole thing for some reason. XD

  2. Heheh, I actually kind of agree with Amanda. I learned to swim closer to the age of six/seven, mostly because the only time I was in the water was after my aunt moved into a house with a pool in the backyard.

    Isabella sounds awesome, though.

  3. Reading this post, the first thing I notice is this: Yet another person answering personality questions to learn more about their characters. I need to do this.
    Secondly, this: Isabella cannot stand to be called ‘Izzy’, yet that is what you call her.
    …and I totally can’t swim at all, just to add to the established conversation.
    -Jack

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

