The Editing Diaries–YOU GOTTA DIG A LITTLE DEEPER!

Welcome to my series, The Editing Diaries!

In a nutshell, I’m editing my story LASER and bringing you guys along for the ride. I want you to see how my process for editing novels works (and maybe I’ll figure out my process with you). So, buckle your seatbelts, we’re going on a trip!

~~~~~~~~~~

Yes, the title of this post is a quote from The Princess and the Frog. Which is a fabulous movie.

Charlotte Labouuf (Lottie) (click to have animated gif)
Lottie is definitely the best character.

And the song about digging a little deeper has a line about knowing what you want but not what you need.

Which I’m not sure actually goes with this post, but eh.

In my last post, I borrowed a metaphor from Maggie Stiefvater. She described a finished novel as a butterfly cake and explained how her explanation of this metaphor made me realize how I didn’t know what I wanted my finished novel to look like when it was done.

Now I’m trying to figure out what I do want this story to look like when it’s done. But figuring that out and making note of it is not as easy as it sounds. I mean, I have a vague and rather blurry vision for this story. But it doesn’t necessarily help me to get edits done. I need something concrete that’s not just in my head. If it stays just in my head, I run the risk of forgetting it, which has happened twice with two different characters in this story.

.

So, here’s what I’m trying.

I’m going to do another read-through. And I am going to take it extremely slowly. As I read-through, I will be making thorough notes of macro and micro levels. I will also be writing down in a notebook things that need to be added, like foreshadowing or allusions.

And then, I’m going to read-through it again and make notes about where to add in the stuff that needs to be added. And I will be making index cards of scenes, like I did much earlier in editing but these will more detailed than last time.

AND THEN. THEN I will go through each scene and each note and work on that scene until all the notes are incorporated. I’m thinking about focusing on only part of the story at a time, like up to midpoint and then post-midpoint or maybe even smaller parts than that.

And then I should just need to do another read-through and a polishing draft/line-edits. And then I’ll be done.

A Little Bit Awesome, A Little Bit Awkward: Entry Level Jobs

Which… wow.

image

After that, I begin the search for an agent or publisher. Which of course involves writing pitches and synopses. Which I should have the groundwork for that in all these scene cards I’ll be making, honestly…

So. That’s the plan.

DEATH OR STORY!!!!

tumblr_nk306n7L7o1qdjpm4o1_500.gif (500×280)
DFTBA!
21 thoughts on “The Editing Diaries–YOU GOTTA DIG A LITTLE DEEPER!

  1. THIS IS AMAZING. I ADMIRE YOUR DEDICATION LIKE A ZILLION PERCENT. I sometimes feel like I’m the worst writer because I just write…and then I edit by rewriting the whole thing, and then I throw it at people and cry. :O I’ve never actually gotten so detailed with the foreshadowing and all of that…and maybe I NEED TO?!?! It sounds like it’ll produce the most amazing and well thought out story of the world. So go you. GOOO YOOOOU!! *flails*

  2. DO THE THINGS AND GO FORTH AND BE AWESOME MY FRIEND. This plan sounds fab. You’ll figure it out, and it will be awesome. *SENDS YOU OFF WITH LOTS OF CHOCOLATE AND LOVE.*

  3. Wow. You’re doing exactly what I’m too scared to start doing! I’m so worried that by becoming super detailed, I’ll lose my passion for writing. Which is dumb because I know that becoming super detailed will lead to me having a great book. And, also, when I’m not procrastinating, I do enjoy editing.
    I love your Editing Diaries series and I was wondering if I could start a similar series on my own blog to document my editing process (giving you due credit for the idea, of course)?
    Also… I’m casually stealing that Kermit gif. xD

  4. I’ll be your agent!

    And as your agent, I hereby declare that 90% of any profits you make off this book will be given to me. To accept this agreement, blink at some point within the next year or two. To decline, do a triple backflip.

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

