Beautiful People– WRITERLY RESOLUTIONS AND GOALS

Oh I haven’t done Beautiful People in FOREVER!

10928109_595959117172101_1450331761_n

This month’s theme is writerly resolutions.

It is the new year, after all.

That happened to me

What were your writing achievements last year?

Well, I won NaNoWriMo. I started editing LASER and got through Draft 2. I queried with picture books and took part in three Twitter Pitch events.

Tell us about your top priority writing project for this year?

LASER. I am in the middle of Draft 3 edits and I would absolutely love to be completely done editing or at least very close by the time summer starts. LASER is my baby and I need to finish it and try to get it published.

List 5 areas you’d like to work the hardest to improve this year.

  1. Less Procrastinating (working on it)
  2. Better Sleep Schedule (this is actually related to writing, though indirectly)
  3. Read More (as Stephen King once said, if you don’t have time to read, you don’t have time to write)
  4. Don’t tell people about my new WIPs! (you’d think I’d have learned this by now…)
  5. I want to continue to write better stories. I want to learn how to manipulate reader-emotions better and I want to learn how to choose the right word and I want to create amazing characters. And I want to enjoy doing it. Because if I don’t enjoy it, then what is the point?

Are you participating in any writing challenges?

New Year’s Short Story Challenge 2016, if we do it. I’m not even sure about NaNoWriMo. If I do NaNo, it will probably be more for motivation and less for 50K.

What’s your critique partner/beta reader situation like and do you have plans to expand this year?

I have two or three critique partners right now. These are my alphas, who read the earliest draft possible in all its hideous glory and will also read the finished product in all of its much-less-hideous glory. They also help me brainstorm from time to time.

As for betas, I have none. I’m debating on whether or not I want to find some. On the one hand, more eyes to help me get all the bugs out. On the other, betas take up more time. And then, which draft do I send them? The completed one or the next readable one? (Any thoughts on betas, guys?)

Do you have plans to read any writer-related books this year? Or are there specific books you want to read for research?

I plan to read Write You Novel from the Middle by James Scott Bell. I believe it involves plotting from the midpoint first. I’ve always had trouble with midpoints, so I thought this would be an interesting read.

Pick one character you want to get to know better, and how are you going to achieve this?

There’s a girl, currently nameless and mostly storyless. Her plot bunny attacked me the other day. I’d like to get to know her, perhaps.

If that plot bunny is not ready to be chased, there is a group of about six characters for the sequel to LASER. I met most of them back in 2011 and 2012. Their story may be the next one to be told.

Do you plan to edit or query, and what’s your plan of attack?

.

Editing is continuing what I’ve been doing and fixing/improving LASER as best as I can and chronicling how I do it here.

As for querying… research potential agents, write query letters and synopses and pitches, panic, compose emails, panic, hit send then feel relief but also excitement to the point of jumping every time my email notification goes off.

Toni Morrison once said, “If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.”  What are the books that you want to see more of, and what “holes” do you think need filling in the literary world?

This is a difficult question to answer. Because it’s not like there’s an actual thought process for me of “Why are there no books like this? I know! I should write one!”.

I write what I want to write and I’m not trying to fill a “hole” or anything like that. I really just want a good story.

So maybe that’s my answer. There aren’t enough good stories in the world and there never will be. What makes a story good is subjective. The point is, some reader somewhere wants to keep reading good stories, wants to wander the library or bookstore looking for a new favorite, and it is my desire to give them a good story.

What do you hope to have achieved by the end of 2016?

I want LASER finished and I want to query with it and it’d be nice if I could get an agent or a publishing contract… yes, I know I don’t have much control over that.

I want to start a new story and maybe finish the first draft.

That’s really it, but they are large and ambitious goals.

SO! Tell me all about your writing goals! What do you want to achieve by the end of the year? Do you write to fill holes or no? And any thoughts on beta-readers?

Creative Pusheen- and wow this is the one I got!!!
DFTBA!
18 thoughts on “Beautiful People– WRITERLY RESOLUTIONS AND GOALS

  1. HAHAHA there’s a car insurance ad here at the bottom of your blog post, and it was right under the cat GIF, so I thought you were trying to convey something via an animated car insurance ad. I was so confused! XD
    See, I told you I follow your blog. XP
    I wish you luck in all of your endeavors!

  2. I think if you have awesome alphas, then you probably don’t need betas?! I MEAN, I HAVE NO IDEA. XD I have several betas but no consistent ones…I kinda shriek and just see who answers the call. *nods* And just one critique partner where we swap work, but for the betas I feel guilty because I don’t give them anything back for their time. WAH. WRITING IS HARD. I so so soooo hope Laser is nice to you and you get to edit and query and stuff. EXCITING YET SCARY. 😀

    Thanks for joining in the linkup!! I feel like I haven’t been on your blog forever so omg, MY BAD. *gives you cake* *makes self at home and eats the cake just gave you*

  3. I actually didn’t know alphas existed until recently—I only knew about betas. Heheh… That being said, I have no idea if it’s needed to have both of them? If you decide you want a beta, I volunteer!

    Those sound like good goals for 2016. I admire that you’re going to try to query by this year… My plan won’t even have me thinking about querying until…2017 at the very earliest. But then, I’m also already multitasking four projects, so I guess that’s what I get.

  4. Sleeeep. I keep telling myself to fix my sleep schedule but nothing ever works XD
    Also, Steven King is a genius. I love that quote from him. It’s so true.
    As for manipulating reader’s emotions….mwa ha ha 3:D I’m with you there 😉

    In regards to the betas, this will be the first time I ever give a draft to them. It’ll be my third draft….I refuse to let them see anything before that XD

    Good luck with you all your goals this year!!

    dimensionsofmyuniverse.blogspot.com

  5. Procrastinating is on everyone’s list =P It’s hard to get down to it, though! When you were talking about really influencing emotion in people, it really reminded me that writing is one of the hardest things anyone can do.

  6. I’m on the researching agents stage too. It’s really scary, because I can’t imagine *submitting* to any yet, but…it’s good to be prepared, I guess? Anyway, good luck on your goals this year! We’ve got this.

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

