How to Start a Blog

Hi, reader-peeps!

I think many of my followers already have a blog. But maybe you don’t and you’re thinking about starting one.

So, an old friend of mine was asking for tips on how to start a blog. And I gave her some.

But Twitter has a 140-character limit, making it hard to explain why things are or even to give multiple tips coherently. Twitter makes you sacrifice commas… *moment of silence for all the sacrificed commas*

So, I thought that I could better give tips for starting a blog… on my blog. Imagine that!

Starting a blog is extremely easy. Perhaps too easy if you don’t know what you’re doing.

  1. Know, at least generally, what you’d like to blog about. What are your interests? And keep in mind that not every post has to follow this topic. I blog mainly about writing, but I also have life posts and the rare book promotion/review post. Also, you don’t have to be a professional in your topic to talk about it. A blog is for sharing your thoughts. Blog is short for “web log”, after all, which basically means “online diary”.
  2. Choose a platform. The two most common are Blogger and WordPress. I’m sure there are more, but I don’t know what those are off the top of my head. I use WordPress and would definitely recommend it. It’s easy and pretty straightforward.
  3. Pay for a domain and/or blog design. This is entirely optional. A lot of people think that a paid-for blog without the “wordpress” in the URL is more professional. I personally am not sure that I agree with that, as the content of the blog is usually more important than the URL. And while you do have more freedom with design if you pay for a domain, I found a design that I love for free and in colors that I love.
  4. Title your blog. This can either be easy or hard. Try to pick something you aren’t going to want to change. Changing the name of your blog over and over will be confusing.
  5. Write a post! Just go for it. Don’t worry about getting it perfect the first time; you can experiment with your blogging style for a while.
  6. Publish the post! You do this by pressing the button that says “Publish”.
  7. Repeat 5 and 6 many times. Try to be consistent with when you publish posts. It doesn’t have to be everyday. I try to blog at least once a week.
  8. Engage with your followers/commenters. I try to reply to all my comments. I try to sound like I’m talking directly to my followers.

I’m not saying you have to have everything figured out beforehand. Coming from me, a discovery-writer who learns better on the job, that’d be hypocrisy.  Experiment! Have fun! This is your blog and you can do whatever you want on it.

So, blogger-peeps, any other tips or ones I’ve forgotten? Are there any of you who are considering starting a blog? Tell me in the comments!

http://www.strangeness-and-charms.com/2014/06/fertig-pusheen-cat.html
DFTBA!
2 thoughts on “How to Start a Blog

  1. Tip: Follow other blogs and comment frequently on them. When I started my previous blog several years ago, I was already an active reader/commenter on quite a few blogs. So, when I started a blog, people already knew me, and I had about 20 followers within two weeks. It’s really a simple concept. You want someone to read your blog? Read theirs. You want someone to comment on your blog? Comment on theirs (and answer when they do comment!).

    Another tip: Join link-ups or blog tours or tags. This is a great way to get your blog out there and get some new readers. Plus, it’s fun. 😉

    Good advice, dear.

  2. I second Amanda’s comment. I think one of my favorite things about blogging is the community, which obviously comes from me reading and commenting on other blogs.

    There’s also another platform that’s like wimbly or something? I’ve never used it, but eh. I like WordPress.

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

