The Editing Diaries– Good Ideas Every Now and Then

Welcome to my series, The Editing Diaries!

In a nutshell, I’m editing my story LASER and bringing you guys along for the ride. I want you to see how my process for editing novels works (and maybe I’ll figure out my process with you). So, buckle your seatbelts, we’re going on a trip!

~~~~~~~~~~

Hi, reader-peeps.

We are post-readthrough, now. And post-holidays. And post-procrastinating. And now we are at a blog post.

Yes, bad pun.

Cute Matt Smith gif/A Doctor a Day ❤️

So, I am working on Riley’s POV and arc.

And this is something that I procrastinated on because all though I want her to have her story, I felt like I was messing it up, even with as little as I had worked on it. And quite frankly, it’s hard to rewrite and add things seamlessly.

But I can’t finish editing this if I never work on it.

image

So. After a few days of mostly not editing and almost binge-watching Royal Pains on Netflix, I had an idea. If Riley’s POV/arc needs to be coherent and I need to be able to see how she is progressing, I should isolate her POV.

I copied all the sections of her POV into a separate Word Doc. If a scene hadn’t been written yet, I made myself a note of what was supposed to be in that scene.

This step only got me part way, though.

Last night, I was looking at the first of the scenes of Riley’s POV and felt like I should fix it.

LASER snippet screenshot

It wasn’t perfect, but I’m not actually at micro-editing yet. The scene was fine.

But it didn’t feel right. Just tweaking Isabella’s POV to fit Riley wasn’t going to work. Which is part of the reason I isolated Riley’s POV in the first place.

I opened another new document. I picked a cute font for Riley. And I started rewriting the scene in her POV.

2016-01-04

I don’t know how it feels to you, but to me, Riley’s POV feels more organic now. I’m happy and Lydia is happy, too (for now).

image

So! Tell me about your writings! What have you been working on? How’s it going? Also! If you did the New Year’s Short Story Challenge, please get me the link to your story, if you haven’t already. I’ll be rounding all the links up and posting them at the end of the week! If you know someone who participated and you don’t see their link, tell them to get their link to me, please. 

DFTBA!

7 thoughts on “The Editing Diaries– Good Ideas Every Now and Then

  1. Ooh…I think separating out the POV is an excellent idea. ANd yes, I like the new version of Riley’s scene better. Especially that comment at the end. XD

  2. Oooh yes. Actually, in the first scene, I had assumed it was in Isabella’s PoV, and when I realized it was Riley’s, it was like WHOA oops. Heh, I do like that new scene, it feels more…personal to Riley, if that makes sense.

    My writing’s going fairly okay. I have a character who hasn’t had the opportunity to be really proactive at all so far (and since I’m ~15k+ in, I don’t know how bad that is yet), and I think I’m finally going to write something where she DOES things, so I’m happy with that.

      • No problem.

        Yup. Unfortunately, while I’m writing this WIP, I want to also start editing my other project. I was supposed to wait to edit until after I’d had at least one beta go through it, but my beta seems to be busy and I can’t decide if I need to find a new beta-reader or just…skip the beta part.
        Being distracted by other projects is fun, right? Heheh.

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

