The Editing Diaries–The Read-Through, Round 2.

Welcome to my series, The Editing Diaries!

In a nutshell, I’m editing my story LASER and bringing you guys along for the ride. I want you to see how my process for editing novels works (and maybe I’ll figure out my process with you). So, buckle your seatbelts, we’re going on a trip!

~~~~~~~~~~

image

I’m writing this post from my lovely new desk chair (which is so much better and more comfortable than the hard red chair I’ve been using).

So! Editing. How have you been editing lately, Katie?

I’ve made some decisions about character arcs and plotlines. And the first step when completely amazed by your own brilliance (and that of your alphas) and slightly overwhelmed by just how much there is to incorporate is, of course, to procrastinate.

So, yes, I’ve been procrastinating. Oh sure I can blame Christmas festivities and still recovering from NaNo (NEVER AGAIN! Yeah, I’ll probably still want to do it next year.), but I’m going to get back into the swing of things and try to edit consistently and efficiently. Because, in case I haven’t said it enough, I am absolutely in love with this story and I want it to be the best it can be. Which of course is why I procrastinate. 

I have a rough idea of what plotlines and arcs need to be incorporated.

In case you can't read that, it says: LASER Draft 3 Readthrough Looking for: Places to incorporate Riley's arc Places to smoothe out Serenity's plotline Foreshadowing Hunter's grand plans of liberation
In case you can’t read that, it says:
LASER Draft 3 Read through
Looking for:
Places to incorporate Riley’s arc
Places to smoothe out Serenity’s plotline
Foreshadowing Hunter’s grand plans of liberation

So, what am I doing with this? What does it mean?

Right now, I am reading through LASER (skimming some parts) and making detailed notes about the top two items, saying exactly what I need to do as much as I possibly can.

For example, my character Riley is getting a POV and an arc. Her arc involves her becoming more timid/anxious. I don’t mean a wimp, just someone who learns to deal with her anxiety when the “thing” that was making her feel safe is pulled away.

And my new Word version does comments differently, so you can't see what each comment is connected to. But you get the idea.

And my new Word version does comments differently, so you can’t see what each comment is connected to. But you get the idea. I’m telling myself exactly what needs to be done as much as I can.

Isn’t this more of a micro-edit, Katie? And aren’t you still kind of procrastinating by doing this?

image

Yes, it kind of is a mirco-edit. But I’m not actually micro-editing. I am inserting character arcs. This is part of the story, but not how it’s being told, so much.

As for the procrastinating question, yes and no. In a way, this is kind of still procrastinating because it’s like I’m making a much more detailed to-do list than I probably need before I can get to work. But at the same time, I am figuring out exactly what I have to do and once I’m done, I should be out of excuses for why I can’t actually edit and cut words and add words though I’m sure it won’t stop me completely from procrastinating. Do I absolutely need this extra detailed organization? Possibly no. But will it save me what little sanity I have left as I face grueling edits and the taskmaster (sometimes monster) that is my internal editor? I hope so.

image
(Oh, shush, Lydia.)

At the very least, this is something I want to do. When you actually want to do something, even if it’s hard work, it helps it not seem so unpleasant. This is helpful at best and productive procrastinating at worst.

image

So, tell me what you all have been writing or editing! Any awesome writing plans for the New Year? And don’t forget about the Short Story Challenge!

 

7 thoughts on “The Editing Diaries–The Read-Through, Round 2.

  1. That sounds great! I’m thinking I’ll probably go back to editing sometime late January/early February, ish, and mostly by starting to…do way more world-building. And then rewriting some of the character’s plot lines. (Actually, probably most of all of them. I realized that, as strange as it sounds, when I wrote the first and even second draft of this story, I was only barely skimming the surface of the story, and I need to go…wwwaaayyyyyyyyyy deeper. Which involves lots of planning and brainstorming and world building and more world building and planning and did I mention world building?)

    I have no idea yet what I’ll write for the new year’s story challenge. Do you?

  2. Good luck! I’m rewriting AGAIN, which is getting kind of tiresome, but I think this is the last draft that needs major rewrites. So there’s that. *collapses*

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

