A Few of My Favorite Things

I have been tagged by my friend Wendy to do this lovely Christmas tag, made by another friend, H.M. Wilson.

 

Rules:
Answer prompts with the wintery/Christmassy theme in mind.
Tag at least 5 of your blogger-buddies to take part.
Use the title picture.
Spread the love around!

Here we go!

1.) Favorite “snuggle weather” Books

Hmm… The Best Christmas Pageant Ever by Barbara Robinson is definitely on the list.

Who is Coming to Our House? by Joseph Slate (short, sweet rhyming picture book).

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle. Yes, I know this one isn’t Christmas-y/winter-y, but the very first chapter with the hot chocolate and everything…

.

2.) Favorite wintery/Christmassy Snacks

(Bonus points for a recipe… *hint-hint*)

Baker cat goes insane... http://themetapicture.com/baker-cat-goes-insane/?fb_action_ids=560033027350276_action_types=og.likes_source=other_multiline_object_map=%7B%22560033027350276%22%3A129775763873528%7D_type_map=%7B%22560033027350276%22%3A%22og.likes%22%7D_ref_map=%5B%5D

Haystacks. Which is basically peanuts, chow mein noodles, and melted butterscotch chips all mixed together and plopped into piles to set. And then you eat them. Easy enough recipe.

Jam thumbprint cookies. Sugar cookie recipe that you roll into a ball, push your thumb into, put jam in the thumbprint part, and then bake. These are lovely with raspberry jam.

Mint anything. And this is one I do not get to eat much of, if at all, as my sister is allergic to mint and the smell alone sets the allergic reaction off. But I love peppermint bark and mint M&Ms.

3.) Favorite Hot Drinks

Hot Chocolate, Coffee, Tea?

Pinkie & caffeine... Oh Celestia help us!! (More pony gifs on the page...)

4.) Favorite Christmas Movies

How many am I allowed to pick?

How the Grinch Stole Christmas, both animated and non-animated. I’m kinda sentimental about these ones.

Bahaha my favorite scene in this movie by far! "But if I moved the loathing til 9, I would still have time to lay in bed, stare at the ceiling and slip slowly into madness...but what will I wear??!":
And it’s quotable.

Christmas with the Kranks is the only “adult” Christmas movie I like. I am apparently extremely picky in the category of adult movies.

Prep and Landing. Which is just awesome.

There are so many more, but I think this is enough for now.

5.) Favorite holiday Songs

O Come, O Come, Emmanuel.

Do You Hear What I Hear?

The Little Drummer Boy (despite my mother’s hatred of it– Hi, Mom!)

Mary, Did You Know (Which, btw, Peter Hollens has done a gorgeous cover of)

6.) Favorite “snow day” Crafts

I don’t really have a lot of crafts that I like to do specifically this time of year, but knitting while watching a Christmas movie is delightful. And there’s always the traditional paper chain.

Also, STORY TIME.

So, several years ago, when my hobbits were smaller, Mom and Dad went Christmas shopping and we offspring stayed at home and made Christmas ornaments out of cereal boxes and… GLITTER.

FREE Cartoon Graphics / Pics / Gifs / Photographs: Peanuts Woodstock animated gifs for winter

We traced around Christmas cookie-cutters, cut the shapes out, and then proceeded to apply glue and glitter. It was very fun and VERY SPARKLY.

We still have at least some of those ornaments.

 7.) Do you wanna build a snowman?

YES! LET IT SNOW!

10 Disney Things to do on a Winter’s Day | Oh My Disney | Awww

 Now!

Do I even know 5 people who would do the tag?

*shrug*

If you haven’t seen Star Wars: The Force Awakens, consider yourself tagged. I have seen it. 

Christmas Vader:

Thank you, Miss H.M. Wilson, for such a lovely tag!

charlie brown christmas quotes - Google Search:
Merry Christmas, everyone!
13 thoughts on “A Few of My Favorite Things

  1. Haven’t seen it and won’t. Have had quite enough of Star Wars-going folks clogging up our dinner line at work and the movie theater taking out line-ropes for their Star Wars crowd and generally making things difficult.

    *cough*

    AHEM. But I’ll answer a few of these for fun.

    3. The only one I like is hot chocolate, and then not very hot.
    4. Does…does Veggie Tales’ “The Star of Christmas” count?
    5. O Come, O Come Emmanuel, Carol of the Bells (especially the Trans Siberian Orchestra’s version), One Small Child, The Night Before Christmas (Brandon Heath), and various Christmas carols besides the first one named up there.

  2. It’s all so wonderful! You sound like my kind of Christmas person ;P And the gifs and pictures just make it a million times better!!!! =D

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

