Inquisitive Wednesday– Behind the Scenes Writing Tag

It’s Inquisitive Wednesday! On IW, I answer 5-10 questions, be they from awards, tags, or reader input.

Ooh, it’s been a while since I’ve done IW.

Today’s tag comes from my friend Schuyler at My Lady Bibliophile. Thank you, Schuyler!

And this tag is about my writing process! Here we go!

– Is there a certain snack you like to eat while writing?

pusheen

Not really, though brainstorming at night with a bowl of cereal is nice. Mostly though, I eat ice. And when I’m really writing, forget the snackies.

– When do you normally write? Night, afternoon, or morning?

Well, I’ve been trying to become a Early Bird writer. It used to be that I write really well at night, but that changed within the last few months.

– Where do you write?

At the dining room table, in the armchair in the living room, on my bed. Sometimes at my desk, but it’s currently a mess and the chair I have is out to assassinate my back. Ah the joys of being old at 24…

– How often do you write a new novel?

Start a new novel is whenever a plot bunny attacks.

.

Finish a novel is about once a year or every two years (editing in between).

– Do you listen to music while you write?

Sometimes. Just whatever I happen to be in the mood for, though sometimes it has to have a certain feel for the scene.

Jane This Song is Catchy gif

– What do you write on? Laptop or paper?

I used to write almost entirely longhand, except when editing. These days, I’m trying to get used to typing.

– Is there a special ritual you have before or after you write?

Not really. Though I do try to daily ask God to bless my writing efforts. My talent and love of writing is from Him anyway. Plus, I like to think this helps me not procrastinate so much, remembering that I’ve asked God to bless what I’m doing.

– What do you do to get into the mood to write?

Dive in. Check my social media first thing in the morning, but then write. Getting myself excited about the story helps, too. I have various methods for that.

– What is always near the place you write?

Hobbits. I can’t get rid of them!

gif

Also, my glass or coffee mug, whatever I’m drinking.

– Do you have a reward system for your word count?

gif

No. Though this year for NaNo, I have a sort of reward system. Which basically involves getting to social media after my daily wordcount is reached (which means [almost] no social media before I’m done). Also, if I win NaNo, I think I’m going to buy myself a new coffee mug and a new book. (If I manage to write a whole novel in one month, I’ll have cut my novel writing time record by 75%. I think that merits cute new coffee mug and a new book.)

– Is there anything about your writing process that others might not know about?

this is going to be weird gif

I try not to talk about my WIPs while I’m in the first draft (Though I really want to talk about it, I lose interest if I do).

I am instinctively a pantser, though I still like to have some idea of what I’m doing.

I roleplay dialogue.

I almost always want to start a story in first-person POV, though I write in third-limited because I’m terrible at first (I have no idea what is up with this wacky default).

Another default is what I call Pride and Prejudice Romance– basically, my couples almost hate each other before they fall in love (not every couple I write is like this, but it happens a lot).

I tag…

Lily J.

Brett Michael Orr

Sophia

Baymax Fist Bump - Bah-l-la-la-la!
DFTBA, reader-peeps!

 

UPDATED TO ADD: By the way, I HAVE 200 BLOG FOLLOWERS NOW!

This really could be my cat Flash...

I AM AMAZED AND GRATEFUL AND EEP THANK YOU ALL!!!

YOU ARE ALL AWESOME!
9 thoughts on “Inquisitive Wednesday– Behind the Scenes Writing Tag

  1. Because I feel like answering these. At least some of them:

    When: Um…an afternoon writer? But the morning works too, it’s just, I don’t usually have time before that’s when I do my devotions.
    Where: Dining room “computer table” or our squishy armchair or outside on the lanai. (That’s a Floridian for you.)
    Music: Whatever. Irish music or dramatic soundtracks seem to work the best, but I have novel playlists that I opt for sometimes.
    On what: Laptop if I can for most times, notebook if the words are coming slowly/my eyes are about to cross from staring at a screen/we’re going somewhere and I want to keep writing.
    Ritual/mood: Um…procrastinating…fussing at myself for procrastinating…eventually putting on music, usually a dramatic soundtrack so I can trick myself into feeling epic.
    Reward system: Uh…nope.
    Other random stuff: My default is first person, too, but I actually do write it in first person most times. Except short stories usually end up being third. I don’t even know.

    I don’t know what else. Nice answers. Although I still say the ice is going to turn on you some day…

  2. Ha, my desk is cluttered too! But even when I sit in that chair to write it is hard on my back. I’ve got Scoliosis, so that plays into it. And yay for 200 followers, that is so awesome!

  3. Congrats on the followers! 😀 WOOOOOT! (This means cake right?! Or lamingtons? Since you make them so wonderfully. *puppy dog eyes and begs*)

    Omg, ALL my romances are that way too!! I literally have only written one romance where they didn’t start out hating each other and it was weird. *shudders* Won’t do that again. In my last one, they fell in love while she had hired assassins to kill him. :’) So adorable, right?

    And writing a book in 30 days TOTALLY deserves a new mug and book! TOTALLY. Plus that mug. xD That mug is golden.

    • THANK YOU CAIT! (Not sure how I’m going to celebrate. *gives you Lamingtons, anyway*)
      I feel like I really need to read this book you wrote. I want see this cuteness of assassins.
      Glad you approve!!! I so absolutely LOVE that mug! 😀

  4. Loved your answers, Katie! So fun to read about your writing process. 😀 I love the hobbits that frequent your writing area–I need to invite some of them over to my place. And I’ll have to find you on NaNo!! Good for you for writing longhand. That’s pretty incredible, and you must have quite a fun collection of notebooks.

    I had a plot bunny and wanted to drop everything this week. It happens rarely for me (most of my inspiration I pour into my current novel) but I’m finding it quite painful!!

    Thanks for joining the tag. ^_^

    And Amanda, I totally second you on the Irish music! I call that my form of coffee. 😀

    • Yes, take my hobbits for a day or two. XD
      Absolutely! I’m Robyn Hoode on the NaNoSite.
      10+years of longhand = LOTS AND LOTS OF NOTEBOOKS! 😀
      You are very welcome! Thanks for giving it to me.

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

