It’s October

It’s October.

Which has different associations for everyone. You’ve got Halloween, pumpkins, Autumn, apples, and colors, to name a few.

pictures of pusheen | tumblr_mtx87bKCoE1qhy6c9o6_r1_400.gif

But for many, October is a countdown. A month of thinking, planning, considering, anticipating.

Katie, what are you talking about?

National Novel Writing Month, of course!

I can hear people rolling their eyes at me right now.

Pusheen The Cat: Pushmemes
I’m just gonna shake it off.

So, yes. I would like to do NaNoWriMo this year. I have an idea for a story that I think is great. I would like to actually try to write a whole novel in a month and if I actually got to 50K, that’d be great, thanks.

A couple of things absolutely have to happen before November, though.

  1. I absolutely must finish this draft of LASER. This is one of those things I’m going to be very firm about. If I don’t finish this draft, I don’t get to NaNo. Period.
  2. I have to finish knitting a couple of bunnies. (I knit bunny-blanket things for babies, by the way.) Two darling babies were born in September and they do not have bunnies, yet. This is unacceptable.
  3. I have to get my sleep schedule straightened out. I know NaNoWriMo is a marathon of tears and headaches and caffeine. But I don’t want any of that to be because of sleep deprivation. If I’m going to cry and get headaches, I want it to be because of the story I’m writing (which… I really don’t want tears and headache from writing, either, but better writing than lack of sleep, right?)

That isn’t everything I need to do, but those are priority. (I also have a list of how to prep for NaNo and how to survive NaNo that I wrote last year.)

So why do NaNo, Katie? Why are you doing it and why should we do it?

To answer the first question, NaNoWriMo literally changed my life. My first year (2011), I met a friend who, through her blog, I found other blogs. Through those blogs, I met people who are my friends to this day, some of them quite close. I became a better writer. I’ve had my stuff critiqued by my friends and I’ve critiqued theirs. I got a blog (that’s right, reader-peeps, I would not be blogging now without NaNo ’11).

http://www.strangeness-and-charms.com/2014/06/fertig-pusheen-cat.html

This is my fourth year doing NaNo. I’m doing it out of nostalgia (and a bit of peer pressure that doesn’t actually exist– everyone else is doing it.)

To answer the second question, NaNo has the ability to teach you a lot. It can show you what awesomeness you are capable of. It gives you the challenge of writing an entire novel in a month. It gives you the chance to become part of a community, a family of writers.

Creative Pusheen- and wow this is the one I got!!!
Even Pusheen does NaNo.

So! Who’s doing NaNo this year? Will you join in our crusade? Who will be strong and stand with me? Have fun preparing and planning and I’ll see you next month!

Pusheen the cat pops out of jackolantern! :) Adorable!!! :)
DFTBA!

UPDATED TO ADD: I JUST REALIZED THAT THIS IS ACTUALLY MY FIFTH YEAR OF NANO. AND…WOW. I’M FREAKING EXCITED.

(okay, carry on with your lives)

36 thoughts on “It’s October

  1. I reeeeeally want to do NaNo this year, but it all depends on how my WIPs go before then. I may spend it trying to finish up old projects… but hopefully not. I hope you get to do it!

  2. Aaaaahhhhh, NaNo… What I want to do for NaNo is write the sequel to the novel I’m already working on, but the thing is—that means I have to finish draft two by Halloween. I thought I could make it, and I thought I could make it, and—then school (and my own procrastination) pushed me behind and…I don’t know if I can make it. I’m still trying, but if I don’t make it, I’m not sure if I’ll have to start it late, or try to fudge it (because I’m fairly confident that draft two is going to change how the book ends from where draft one left it, which means the beginning of the sequel might be changed), so… I dunno.

    But NaNo is awesome. ’12, my first year, is probably the reason I was able to actually take my writing more seriously, and it also showed me the delightful fun of having more than one project *cough* ’13 was kind of bleh for me, but the community more than made up for that. Oh my gosh the YWP can be amazing. And then last year, ’14, is what got me out of my writing rut. This past year has been both the slowest writing year ever (I’m taking an entire year to do just draft two, and I’ve talked to people who apparently have found it possible to edit faster. O_O I don’t know how that’s possible.) and also the best writing year, and it’s because I did NaNo last fall.

    So yeah, ramble over, heh heh…

  3. Eeeeeee!! NaNoWriMo! It makes my heart sing. Like you, though, I have to get through a draft of a WIP before I can participate. Oh, dear. I don’t know if it will happen. Yikes.

  4. NaNo was completely life changing for me. This is my sixth time doing it and hopefully my fourth win. (First time not doing YWP, though. I could if I wanted, but I think 50K is manageable for me now…maybe….) I would love to actually finish the book this year, though–I usually write most of it and then proceed to give up on it after NaNo and scrap the names to reuse the following year. But I have an idea that I think will do well, so this could be it.

  5. YESSSS. I AM DOING NA NO!! I mean, there’s like this microscopic chance I might not because my plotting is giving me headaches right now. *trembles* But I’m 90% sure I will because NANO. I did it for the first time last year and…it didn’t change my life or anything? BUT. I had so. much. fun. And it was really awesome just hanging around other writers while they wrote and I think the camaraderie was the BEST. Ergo I want to do it again. 😀 But getting headaches and everything is not fun. D: I hope you don’t have to suffer through headaches in November.

    • NaNo doesn’t have to be life changing. Much fun is good enough on it’s own. And I love the writing community! 🙂
      No, headaches are absolutely, nope, nope, nope, not fun. *gives poor Cait cake* I hope you feel better soon!

  6. So, yes! October! Preparations galore! I had a good prep class with my little minions padawans students today. We set out NaNo goals. I have one young one going for 1,500, two older ones going for 6,000, and one medium one going for 5,000. I also have one assistant shooting for 12k. And me? I’m still waiting to see how work irons out, but tentatively going for 30k on my rewrite. Whew! Okay, admittedly that’s kind of scaring me right now. Maybe 25k…

    *coughs* Anyway. *grabs pom poms* YOU CAN DO IT!!!! LASER, bunnies, action!

  7. I’m NaNoing! I’m rebel NaNoing (again) and continuing work on LADY DRAGON, TELA DU, the second book of my Rizkaland Legends – but it’s the book that needs the words right now. I need to have the book done by Christmas if I’m to get it published by next September – so I need that oomph of words, and I can’t spare them to another book.

    But NaNo is awesome, and I wouldn’t be the author I am today without it.

  8. GIRL THIS IS MY FIFTH YEAR OF NANO TOO GOSH I FEEL SO OLD WAA

    Hopefully this year I’ll actually get a workable draft out of it? I’d like to start the new year off with editing.

    For NaNo, I’m writing a thing that I plotted most of in a weekend which is kind of UNHEARD OF for me since I am an awful plotter. So I’m kinda proud of that. I still don’t know people’s names, but at least I have 80% of a story! I’m super excited for this one because it’s a fantasy based on a mish-mash of Slavic folktales, and the character ratio of women to men is somewhere around 2:1, and most of those women are pretty kick-ass. Also there are mermaids. So that’s exciting.

    GOOD LUCK I AM BY YOUR SIDE THROUGH THIS NANO MADNESS

    • WHY DO WE FEEL SO OLD???

      Ooh! That’s a good goal.
      Writing process seems to vary a lot from book to book. Good job plotting! AND I AM ABSOLUTELY INTRIGUED BY THIS STORY. YOU MUST WRITE IT. GOOD LUCK TO YOU AS WELL, M’DEAR! TO BATTLE WE GO!

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

