Character Personalities and Hufflepuffs

Last month, I took a Meyers-Briggs personality quiz.

I got ISFP.

And not only am I not sure how accurate that is, I also have no idea what to do with this information.

Really, I don’t have much interest in Meyers-Briggs. I know that there are many people who love it all over the place and some authors even sort their characters by it but honestly… it’s not for me.

I am not a Harry Potter fan.

Mainly because I have not read the books or watched the movies (and I think that’s kinda crucial in this instance).

There are various concepts about HP that I adore, though– school in a castle, owls, and fantasy critters, for example.

And like any good fangirl of any series, I have taken the Hogwarts House quiz to see which house I would end up in. (Admit it, fans, you do this with as many series as have groups, factions, who-is-your-Greek-god-parent etc.) (Also, if anyone wants to know, I am Erudite/Amity in Divergent quizzes. You may all call me a traitor now, but I’m not apologizing and I will just give you cookies and love.)

Turns out, I am a Hufflepuff.

For anyone who doesn’t know, Hufflepuffs are loyal and just. That is what they represent. And it’s quite a nice thing to be a part of.

(Of course, just because you are sorted into one House doesn’t mean you don’t have traits of others. I took a quiz that shows how much preference to all the Houses you have and I’m also very much Ravenclaw.)

Already, you can probably tell how awesome I think this is compared to Meyers-Briggs.

I have also sorted my characters of LASER into their Houses. Mentally for the most part.

It was a bit of an eye opener.

My main character is either Slytherin or Gryffindor (I’m not sure which).

So, as I was thinking which Houses they would belong in, I got thinking about my villain. (No name for spoiler’s sake, sorry.) Where does he belong?

I thought he might actually be Hufflepuff and then Slytherin.

Which was surprising. Thinking about my villains motives, could he actually be Hufflepuff? Thinking about his scheme, was he Slytherin?

I took the sorting quiz again, this time as my villain.

I was right.

36786550c46a2ad65c1aed943021b9c5

I find it very interesting that my villain belongs in the House that is most made fun of and has a cutesy sort of name.

And yet. It makes a lot of sense that he was sorted into this House. Loyalty and justice are very dominant in his character.

I wish I could just fangirl here and tell you guys why this works so well for him. But I can’t. Spoilers.

And I also find it interesting that he ended up in the same House I did. Completely unintentionally. Which just goes to show you that every character takes away something from their author and that little pieces of the author’s soul get embedded into stories.

Have any of you ever sorted your characters into Hogwarts Houses, Meyers-Briggs, or any other personality thing and find out something interesting about your characters? Let me know in the comments!

.:
DFTBA!
21 thoughts on “Character Personalities and Hufflepuffs

  1. That is interesting indeed. And makes quite a point about the villains being heroes of their own story, not being all bad, and that stuff.

    I don’t know anything about HP and all that, but as far as Divergent goes, I’m mostly Abnegation and Amity, but Erudite is a close third. 😛

  2. I AM SLYTHERIN AND THIS SURPRISES EXACTLY NO ONE. I actually really like sorting characters! 😀 It helps me to get a better grasp of their personalities….particularly if I’m struggling with them. *nods* For my most recent book I’m plotting for NaNo, my MC is definitely Slytherin…and he’s the protagonist. omg. So usually I do write more anti-hero kinds. XD But the book I just finished writing…I’m like 99% sure the MC is a hufflepuff!! With a Slytherin brother and sister. o.O Which you can imagine makes family outings fun for the Hufflepuff. *sigh*
    I think it’s awesome that your villain IS Hufflepuff…I think too many villains get lumped as Slytherin AND IT’S NOT FAIR. WE’RE NOT ALL EVIL.

    • I know at least three very nice Slytherins and you are absolutely right, it isn’t fair to assume all Slytherins are evil! Their cunning and ambition are dominant in their personalities. It means nothing else.
      Thanks! It was quite interesting to realize that his loyalty was so very powerful in his character, even as he’s doing things that are less than good.

  3. Hufflepuff villains. YES.

    I’d never tried to sort my characters into Hogwarts houses, though I have taken a few of those quizzes myself….I’m a Gryffindor, but Hufflepuff’s a pretty close second. I think my main character would be Gryffindor as well. The others are probably scattered among houses. In Divergent they’d probably be a bunch of factionless rebels, knowing them. I assume I’m Divergent, Dauntless/Erudite/Amity, but I haven’t done a test.

    I think my NaNo protagonist kind of acts Slytherin but is really Gryffindor, if that makes any sense….

    • Ooh. I’ve never thought of sorting my characters into Divergent factions. My MC is Dauntless for sure.

      That does make sense. That’s kinda my MC. It seems like she has the cunning and ambition to be Slytherin, but she may be Gryffindor.

  4. Just the other day my English teacher sorted all the students in my class into what house he thought they were. He named me a slytherin. I named him a liar. (#hufflepuffforthewin)

  5. I think I did one of those once, and got Hufflepuff as well. I have only read the first three HP books, and never considered myself much of a fan, so I never even thought about sorting my characters into the houses. I have, however, sorted my characters with their Meyers-Briggs. Well, all but a few because I can only answer those questions so many times before my brain explodes (and I have too many characters in my current novel). I wanna find another personality-sorting-quiz thingy besides Meyers-Briggs, though, because I’m not sure…how accurate that is? Like, I got INFP, and it sounded kind of like me at first, and then when I started reading the descriptions, I felt more like, “Um…I have absolutely no clue if that’s me or not.

  6. I am officially Ravenclaw. But if you see my proportions, I’m almost evenly a split between Ravenclaw, Hufflepuff, and Gryffindor. I am almost 0% Slytherin. (I agree ENTIRELY with this haha)

    • WOW. I’m impressed.
      For me, I was like 85% Hufflepuff and 70-something% Ravenclaw. Then I was Slytherin and lastly Gryffindor. (Which I believe very much. Bravery is not my strong point. 😛 )

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

