The Editing Diaries– I’M BACK!!!

Welcome to my series, The Editing Diaries!

In a nutshell, I’m editing my story LASER and bringing you guys along for the ride. I want you to see how my process for editing novels works (and maybe I’ll figure out my process with you). So, buckle your seatbelts, we’re going on a trip!

~~~~~~~~~~

Hiya, reader-peeps!

Marshmallow Peeps Diorama | peeps diorama at the cambria library features a harry potter theme ...

Guess who has a new laptop!

Me!

Which means I can blog again.

Yay!

On a quick note, you know how I submitted that picture book to an agent about two months ago? Well, I heard back from said agent.

It was a “No, thanks.” It was also the same day my laptop died…

This has been a fun day, huh? Treasure Planet

But it was a really encouraging and sweet rejection letter (there is no way to soften “rejection letter”), saying that it was good, but she personally preferred something else, that I should keep writing, and that I was welcome to query her with future projects.

And so everyone knows, I am okay with this. I was stunned when it happened (just because it was a rejection letter and that’ll stun anyone for a day or so) but I am very okay now.

SO. EDITING!

Editing has not happened since my old laptop bit the dust. Because, you see, I was editing on the old laptop and my dear LASER is still on it. But do not worry! It can be removed and transferred! We just haven’t gotten to that yet.

The death of my old laptop means that I probably won’t be able to finish editing by November.

So, what have I been doing in the meantime?

Reading and reading a lot. Amazing how much free time not having a computer frees up…  Kind of recharging my creative batteries, you know?

Also, baking. Bread and fruit bars and muffins and it really seems like I baked more than that… oh well.

And I’ve been writing.

Oh come on, you guys didn’t expect me to actually take a full writing break for three weeks, did you?

The new story is all very hush-hush at this point, so no details yet.

That's classified. || Phil Coulson || AOS 1x02 0-8-4 || 499px × 280px || #animated #quotes

And that’s what I’ve been up to.

And I may or may not have finally seen The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies and also turned 24…

#Birthday
Yesterday was, anyway.

So, what have all my fabulous reader-peeps been up to these past three weeks?

It's not called laziness... it's productive work and research for my novels!
DFTBA!
22 thoughts on “The Editing Diaries– I’M BACK!!!

  1. I WAS LITERALLY JUST WONDERING ABOUT THE PICTURE BOOK LIKE TWO DAYS AGO. You mind reader, you…

    Ahem.

    Anyhow. Of course I didn’t expect you to take three whole weeks off writing! If it had been me with the messed up laptop, it would’ve been like: “Oh. Cool. Now I have an excuse to quit trying to edit.” *headdesk*

    Yay for baking and birthdays!

  2. Happy (belated) birthday!!! *showers you with small chocolate chips in celebration* AND YAY FOR NEW COMPUTER. Boo to rejection letters. They pretty much always suck, I agree. But I think worse is when you don’t get when. When it’s just like NOTHING and you don’t know if they forgot to answer, if they might still answer or if they hated your stuff so much they’re still laughing about it while eating teh souls of rejected authors (idek what agents do on their breaks, this is just my guess). SO IN A WAY A REJECTION IS AT LEAST CLOSURE. *nods* That’s sooo nice she invited you to query with other projects though. 😀

    • THANK YOU CAIT. *noms chocolate chips*
      YES. I have queried before and received no reply. I infinitely prefer closure!
      She is so sweet! I definitely plan to query her again later. She also represents YA. 😀

  3. Happy late birthday! *throws around some glitter in celebration*

    Ohhh, that must not have been fun when it happened. I’ve never gotten a rejection letter, but… gosh. Glad to know you’re okay now, though!
    And good luck with the new story!

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

