In Which Katie Feels A Bit Like A Protagonist From High School Musical…

So. Another nearly week long hiatus. Ouch.

I’m so sorry, readers.

I’ve had a lot on my mind this past week.

A dear friend left for college.

And I’ve been thinking about college myself, for the first time in about 8 years or so.

Having a bit of an existential/career/identity crisis when you’re nearly 24 (or any age, I imagine) isn’t fun. And to think that I did not understand all that when I was teenager and could honestly say I could not relate with people who wanted to “find themselves” because I had no idea what that even meant. (I know what these people mean now!)

“So… what’s the existential/career/identity crisis, Katie?”

Well, I don’t want to live with my parents forever. (But don’t think this means I don’t love them very much. I just want to leave the nest eventually.)

And, if we’re being practical, writing is not a guaranteed paycheck, much less one that pays bills and buys food.

Last week, another friend told me she had changed her major to library science.

*after a quick Google search for definition of library science*: “Ooh! That sounds awesome.”

“So, what is library science, Katie?”

Library science (often termed library studies or library and information science) is an interdisciplinary or multidisciplinary field that applies the practices, perspectives, and tools of management, information technology, education, and other areas to libraries; the collection, organization, preservation, and dissemination of information resources; and the political economy of information.” ~Wikipedia

It’s the degree that allows you to become a librarian. And by “librarian”, I mean the person who helps you with homework/research, chooses what books get added to the library and which get thrown out, helps people with the internet, etc. Not just the person who puts books away and collects overdue fines.

And I’ve been thinking about going to college for this.

One does not simply decide to go to college, though.

For one thing, time and money.

For another, in order to be a librarian, you have to have a master’s degree. That’s 6 years of college.

And another, I don’t know how to do a lot of this. I’ve never applied for college or taken the SAT or anything like that. I about melted my brain the other morning, trying to find out why there seemed to be no bachelor’s degree in library science.

But the payoff for all this…

LIBRARIAN!

Practically speaking, librarian would be a good job because it’s a guaranteed, regular paycheck (and a good-sized one, too).

…And those are all the pros it has going for it at this point. But they are big ones. 

The biggest issue I’m struggling with here is the time.

You see, I am almost 24. And I can’t start college this Fall. I may be able to next Fall, if I decide this is what I want and I really push myself, but by the time I get my master’s degree… I’ll be at least 30.

And I was honestly hoping to be a published author by 30 (which I know is not really in my hands past the writing, editing, and submitting).

This may not seem like a big deal to a lot of you. And I get that. A lot of you reader-peeps, at least the ones I know outside of this blog, may still be in high school and are only starting to consider college. Or maybe you are already in college. But not many of you are older than me (I can only name one off the top of my head who is older.)

Age is a scary thing.

Point is… I know how to write a good story. If I go to college for 6 years, I’ll know how to be a librarian, yes, but I will have to give up a fair amount of time that could be spent working toward publication or working a job that doesn’t require extra school.

Making the assumption that I will be at least 30 either way, whether I choose college or writing… is there a reason I should not just focus my efforts on writing for the next 6 years and forget college? Is there a reason I should just go to college and work on writing later?

I want to be a writer more than I want to be a librarian. But librarian is that practical second choice, you know?

I’m not asking for your advice in all this (though you are welcome to give it). This is a decision I, and I alone, need to make.

But your prayers would be appreciated.

And on that note, I have something to tell you.

I’m going on vacation! (I may have already said this before, but I can’t remember.)

What does this have to do with you?

Basically, the blogging is not likely to become more frequent than once a week. I will try to blog at least that, but I will be with family and on the beach and near pools and playing Scrabble with Grandma (we luuuv Scrabble).

Anyway. Just letting you know, so you don’t worry. 😉

Peeps at the pool - and engaged in synchronized swimming
DFTBA!
16 thoughts on “In Which Katie Feels A Bit Like A Protagonist From High School Musical…

  1. Wow . . . Let’s just say that being 14 and having no worries about college whatsoever is feeling great right now. Librarian seems like a cool job, though. The folks at the two libraries I go to seem really happy with their jobs 🙂

    And don’t feel bad about the once a week blogging. I think I may have to abandon my blog for three weeks starting today. I only pulled off last week because I scheduled posts.

  2. Uuuuugh, college. This is my senior year of high school, so college is looming very, very quickly. I think I might major in English, since it’s either that or journalism if you want to be an editor (which I think would be lots of fun… it’s always more fun if it’s other people’s stories and not your own). But library science would be cool too… So many options. *moan*
    Also, sending tons of prayers your way! 😀

  3. I have to admit, sometimes I’m a little worried that going to college to do book cover design is going to mean I won’t have time for writing. I struggle a lot with neatly balancing my art and my writing, and usually what happens is I’ll obsessively work on one for a while, and not do the other, until I decide I need to do the other and then I’ll obsessively work on that one instead.

    But I think I can make it work. Art will be my career. But my writing won’t stop. I might be forced to have smaller writing times, but that will increase my productivity. I’ll have less time to write, and therefore, I’ll need to make it count. It’ll be better than the hours and hours of writing time I have now, where it’s easy to let myself waste time on Pinterest or YWP because I have hours. At least, I hope it’ll work that way.
    I think I can get myself published before I get out of college, but I think I’m going to self-publish, one reason being that I can make my own deadlines and I can make it work with my art career and/or school.

    I’ll definitely be praying for you.

  4. I am a pretty large proponent of college. And despite that I started college “on schedule” (i.e. when I was 18), I’m still going to be in school until I’m 30. Because yay! I’m going to be a doctor! (That’s partial sarcasm and partial honest excitement. I’m not excited about the length of schooling but I’m sincerely into this career path, equally with writing.)
    I know 30 sounds old but it’s less than half of your life, so even if you don’t end up working at a library, a college degree is a fine thing to have. And a masters is even better.
    Also, people have published SO MANY books while schooling or working or parenting or all three at once. It’s totally possible. Six years of only partial writing and mostly schooling is not too bad a bargain in exchange for a steady income for the rest of your life and less pressure to sell your writing, in my opinion. Six years is TINY in the whole scheme of things.
    And ALL THE EXPERIENCE you’ll get in college will just make you a better writer. Not necessarily better in terms of logistics and technicalities and all that (we all know a degree isn’t what makes the writer). What I mean is that when you go to college, you see the world with different eyes. It’s a whole new ballpark and that will DEFINITELY impact your writing. You’ll be able to look at things (people, interactions, situations, whatever…) in a new way.
    So my advice (even though you’re not asking) would be closer to “yes” than to “no.”
    But I understand it’s tough when your first love is writing.

    …but if you need test prep and college app advice (especially the homeschooling kind, ’cause, trust me, I know it’s complicated), I’m kinda really experienced? 😛 So feel free to ask if you have any questions of any kind. 🙂

    (And prayers are totally happening, too.)

    • Yes. This is the logical side of the debate. And part of the reason I’m leaning toward the college side of things.
      Thank you so much, Sophia. For the prayers and if I need prep/test/app advice, I will definitely ask. 🙂

  5. Oh, college. I suppose I have a similar situation to you when it comes to college. I know that I will be going to college at the age of 18, and I will probably be going there for around ten years because I want to get a PhD in Computer/Electrical Engineering. I’m actually trying not to think about how long I’ll be in school for because it’s quite daunting to me, but I really love engineering and coding and I know I want that to be my full time job. That said, I have that same problem that you have in that I’m not sure how I’m going to fit in writing during that time, because I still want to be a part time novelist.

    Right now I’m thinking about it this way: high school is pretty rigorous and even though college is sure to be even more work, if I can make time now to write, I should also be able to find the time during college to write. And then if someday I start a family, I will really be pressed to find time to write, but I still will need to actually sit down and do it. The way I look at it, no matter what is thrown my way, I can always find just a little bit of time to write if I try hard enough. So it might help you to think of it that way, too. Being a librarian will be a steady source of income (like being an engineer will be for me), but you’ll still be able to write on the side, so college might be useful for that. Another benefit of that is that you can concentrate more on really developing your craft as a writer and our writing will be more genuine if you aren’t constantly worrying about how you can support yourself. Anyway, college seems like a fun and worthwhile experience. It’s a great way to meet people and maybe learn a bit about living on your own without taking the full plunge just yet. Those are just my thoughts about what I’m thinking in relation to my career as a writer, but of course you should make the decision that feels right for you.

    On a side note, I did not even know that library science was a thing. That’s pretty cool, though. I had no idea that librarians actually had to have a degree.

    • Lots of good points. And that’s one of the reasons I’m struggling. There are so many good reasons to do this.
      That is a very good way to think of it, how no matter what gets thrown at you, you still have to sit and actually write the thing.
      It is pretty cool! I would love to do it (hence my dilemma XD ).

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

