The Editing Diaries–We Shall Prevail! THE SEQUEL!

Welcome to my series, The Editing Diaries!

In a nutshell, I’m editing my story LASER and bringing you guys along for the ride. I want you to see how my process for editing novels works (and maybe I’ll figure out my process with you). So, buckle your seatbelts, we’re going on a trip!

~~~~~~~~~~

Hi, reader-peeps.

.

“Wait a minute! Didn’t you post this yesterday, Katie???”

Yes, but I respectfully demand a sequel to that post. Please.

So, after I posted yesterday, I was browsing Twitter, feeling generally ill and I possibly had a fever at the time. Also, procrastinating. Because 1) I could have been writing but 2) it was my daily dry spell (more about this phenomena in a later post).

I noticed that #PBPitch was trending.

#PBPitch is when you pitch a picture book and if an agent/or editor favorite your pitch tweet, they are requesting a query.

So, in my possibly feverish state, I remembered that I had a poem I had written a few years ago that would make an adorable picture book.

It was completed.

Ah, why not.  *writes up a pitch* *tweets it*

And a few minutes later, an agent had favorited it.

GASP!!!!!! #Pinkie #Pie #Twilight #Sparkle #

Birthday gif by Rex42
Pinkie is the only one who can accurately portray my excitement.

 

So… I spent yesterday afternoon shrieking internally and being excited to the point of a stomach ache.

I also got a query written up and sent.

Now I can spent the next 8 weeks jumping every time my email notification dings.

she is loco crazy or gone mad what do you think

If you take away anything from this post, take away this: Procrastination is not always a bad thing. Take chances if you can.

Also, go write so you can take those chances and procrastinate every now and then.

mlp gif
DFTBA!
22 thoughts on “The Editing Diaries–We Shall Prevail! THE SEQUEL!

  1. Okay, WOW. Never would have thought procrastinating could be so productive. (I’m procrastinating now, actually. Nothing good has come of it thus far, but I can always hope. I think all the plot bunnies have crawled into a hole to die.)

  2. That’s a lot of Pinkies really awesome! Try to not go too crazy when you get emails. There’s a tiny piece of me that wants to send you pointless emails just so…well, yeah. I won’t do it, so don’t worry. Hehe, sorry.

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

