The Editing Diaries–We Shall Prevail! Even if we are crazy.

Welcome to my series, The Editing Diaries!

In a nutshell, I’m editing my story LASER and bringing you guys along for the ride. I want you to see how my process for editing novels works (and maybe I’ll figure out my process with you). So, buckle your seatbelts, we’re going on a trip!

~~~~~~~~~~

Hi, reader-peeps.

.

“How are the edits going, Katie?”

I’m glad you asked.

I’m almost done with this pass. Meaning that I am almost done going all the way through it once.

But like I said before, it’s actually less coherent than last time.

Part of that is because this keeps happening:

RH20SS

Argument SS

I get stuck, so I leave myself a note and move on.

Also, it’s fun to talk to yourself when making notes.

You is Crazy SS
Consider this a snippet, reader-peeps! Consider them all snippets, if you wish!
Schizo SS
For anyone unaware, Lydia is what I call my internal editor.

But like I said, I am almost done with this pass. I pretty much just have the ending left, which I think I do not have to completely rewrite after all. Insert happy dance.

best gifs for many flavors of excitement. I totally do this dance all the time.

Yes, I will probably get stuck and leave myself notes again. But 1) I plan to go back and fix those, and 2) I have most everything else figured out!

At this point, the only thing I don’t have figured out is whether or not a couple of characters bite the dust. They bit the dust back in Drafts 1 and 1.5. And currently their future is looking bleak.

David Tennant Hamlet
Alas, poor charries. I knew them well.

This post is going to be short. Quite frankly, I’m sick. Thankfully, it is not hindering my editing efforts other than some typos that involve me typing completely the wrong word.

To make up for short post, have one of my favorite comedy sketches:

How’s everyone else’s writing/editing going? Who’s doing Camp NaNo next month? 

.
I’m exhausted. Yep, definitely sick. DFTBA!
6 thoughts on “The Editing Diaries–We Shall Prevail! Even if we are crazy.

  1. Happy to see the edits moving along! I’m still stuck in the depths of finding a new plot. Getting closer, though! I’ll be working on the story during Camp, but I don’t think I can manage more than 15K what with CIT and everything else going on…

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

