The Editing Diaries–In Which Katie May Be Proving Herself Insane

Welcome to my series, The Editing Diaries!

In a nutshell, I’m editing my story LASER and bringing you guys along for the ride. I want you to see how my process for editing novels works (and maybe I’ll figure out my process with you). So, buckle your seatbelts, we’re going on a trip!

~~~~~~~~~~

I’d like to call this segment “The Part of the Trip When We’re All Sick of Being in the Car and We’re Lost and Looking for a Rest Area and Mom and Dad Start Arguing and the Baby is Crying for No Reason”.

Don’t tell me that you have never experienced something along those lines.

Problem with this title is that I’m (kind of) the mom, but I’m completely lacking in the husband department, which means…who am I arguing with?  Myself? Okay, we’re officially a homeschool family now. Spellcheck is not accepting “homeschool” as a word. I’m insulted! Since I’m arguing with myself, this is a PTA meeting.

Evidence A.
Evidence A.

You know what? This metaphor is getting out of hand. Just… let’s reset our minds. And pretend that there aren’t all these kids in this van crap, it’s a van, now? How many of these kids are there?.

Can you tell I’m running on not enough caffeine? A sensible person probably wouldn’t even be writing this post like this. They also wouldn’t be imagining strange scenarios of seemingly single parenthood…

Let’s talk about editing, then, shall we?

It’s Thursday morning as I start this blog post. And editing stinks. My problem? I have a handful of scenes that I really don’t want to rewrite. But I have to rewrite them.

Right now, the most promising route on the map is to skip over them. Take a detour. We’ll take this road later.

“But, Katie,” you say, “you make it sound like you haven’t done any editing yet this week.”

To which, I laugh obligingly if you are one of the blog readers or give you a glare if you are one of my characters (who probably qualify as those kids I was talking about earlier)(My characters don’t read my blog… I think.).

Yes. I have hardly edited anything this week. Why? “Hurt wrist” is a good excuse. “Stuck” is the other good excuse.

Procrastinating because I’m stuck is not a good excuse. But I’ll use it. Procrastinating because I’m in the middle of a really good book is also not a good excuse.

So, yeah. That’s how the cookie crumbles.

I’m going to leave off here. I’ll be back tomorrow morning to write the second half of this blog post. Hopefully, I’ll be able to get something done.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It’s Friday morning! Rise and shine, up and at’em, wakey, wakey, eggs and bakey!

I’m also poorly caffeinated as I write this section, but I slept well, so I’m good.

And honestly, I really haven’t edited much since I wrote the first half of this post. I mean, I decided to skip over the troublesome scenes for now, and got through Ch. 18, which I did not have to rewrite, and started outlining what I need to fix in Ch. 19. Which, I guess, is some progress.

I also learned that I am way too short on sleep to edit much at night. You know, when you are tired and all the small problems turn into big problems and the whole world, especially your writing, stinks? Yeah. That.

I submit the sudden thought that my internal editor is like a were-vampire. She’s fine during the day, but when the sun goes down, she sucks all the life out of me.

I should get her some therapy or a doctor or something. Maybe I should just make her go to bed on time.

Wow. That tangent…

So, what’s in store for this next week?

Push forward and think about what I need to do to rewrite the scenes I skipped. Possibly resigning myself to the fact that I may have to do more than two editing passes (I think I will panic less that way).

Yes, I’ve panicked a bit. This week started the “This stinks, can’t I do anything else besides edit?”. My goal?

Keep calm and carry on.

I may use this.

Accurate.
Not for cleaning my computer screen.

So, music this week?

Not much. But I did discover Blank Space by Taylor Swift (which causes fun plot bunnies). And by discover, I mean, yes I had never heard it before three days ago. Also, Dear Future Husband by Meghan Trainor (which is just fun).

Oh. And there may or may not have been some My Little Pony music as well.

*belts theme song*

basically
ON ALL LEVELS.

So, how are your writing/editing projects going, readers? And what are you listening to lately? AND HOW DID CAMP NANO GO? I only half-participated (silly editing not being comparable to word counts…). 

I wonder if this will be me one day...
…And there are the kids again.

DFTBA!

33 thoughts on “The Editing Diaries–In Which Katie May Be Proving Herself Insane

  1. You are most definitely insane. But hey, so am I. Pretty sure all writers are, actually.

    Anyway, Camp went great, and I finished just over my goal of 30K, but now I’m exhausted. Mentally and physically. At least I got some useful insights on my WIP, even if most of what I wrote was trash. And as for music…I pretty much just listen to Colbie Caillat’s album Gypsy Heart over and over. I’m really, really picky about my music.

    • I’m also sure all writers aren’t all there. 🙂
      Excellent! Good job! 🙂
      Ooh. I’m also really picky about music, but I’m also a little weird about it. I almost have to be tricked into listening into new music.

      • Same. I have four go to singers, and of those, I don’t much like Taylor Swift anymore, so really just three. I’m boring, I know. But there’s nothing good. So, noveling playlist over and over.

          • Never heard of him….I usually listen to Colbie Caillat, Phillip Phillips, a couple songs by Sara Bareilles, some older Taylor Swift tracks. Her song Change is the closest thing to a theme song that my book has. And the Harry Potter soundtrack is also awesome…

            • He’s mostly a YouTuber, but his stuff is on Spotify.
              I like some of Philip Philips stuff. But I have to admit that I’ve heard all of three Taylor Swift songs. And that I’m not a Harry Potter fan (I haven’t read the books or watched the movies.)

              • I despise Taylor Swift’s newer music, but her album Fearless is pretty good. Also her song Long Live. It reminds me so much of my book. Phillip Phillips music is just fun and upbeat, plus my family likes him so I hear a lot of his music anyway.

                HP is possibly the best series in existence. But Percy Jackson and The Hunger Games are up there, too. And if you have not read any of those three, I may have to virtually force all of them on you. *throws copies of every book in your direction*

                • STAND DOWN! I’VE READ PERCY JACKSON! XD
                  I watched The Hunger Games and got part way through an audiobook of it, but I’ve not done any Catching Fire or Mocking Jay minus The Hanging Tree song and random Wikipedia-ing or other thingies on the internet.

  2. You sound just the tiniest bit scatterbrained.

    Heh, anyway. I’ve hardly done any decent writing or editing of any kind because… this week, I started looking at college stuff! And so I mostly haven’t had the time, nor the mental capacity. I didn’t even realize Camp had ended until like earlier this morning, and I hadn’t made my goal. Heh, turned out I hadn’t updated the little bit of work I had done, and in the end, I was only off my goal by about 1k, so… I’m not really too devastated, though maybe a little disappointed in myself.
    Eh. Oh well.

  3. I feel like that illustration PERFECTLY described editing. I feel like I am the mum, dad, and all million kids screaming in the back. EDITING IS HARD. I’m gonna buy myself one of those towels one day because THEY ARE SO CORRECT. *offers you caffeine*

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

