The Editing Diaries– Procrastination and Music

Welcome to my series, The Editing Diaries!

In a nutshell, I’m editing my story LASER and bringing you guys along for the ride. I want you to see how my process for editing novels works (and maybe I’ll figure out my process with you). So, buckle your seatbelts, we’re going on a trip!

~~~~~~~~~~

This week has not been very productive in terms of implementing fixes to problems. And I am going to come right out and admit that this post is procrastination. I am procrastinating editing.

Why?

Because my Macro list is only four items long but they are all rewriting. And one of those is a fairly large chunk. And just… ick.

I probably just need to get myself started. Grit my teeth and dive in.

But I’ll finish this post first. Because it will be short.

This week towards editing, I finished writing a brand new scene. A fencing scene. I love the idea of this scene, but oh my word processor, I do not like writing action scenes. There wasn’t even that much action by the time I was done…

I also figured out how to fix the problems on my Macro list with help from the fabulous Lily J. We got on video-chat Monday night and we eventually shook loose some solutions from our brains. And by eventually, I mean we started at about 9:15 and got off three hours later and the hardest one to figure out was about the story’s resident dragon. BUT WE DID IT.

Once I knew what I had to do to fix the problems, I broke those solutions down into my Major Micro and Minor Micro lists. Some Macro problems can be fix with a few sentences added. It’s amazing.

I still have a few Macro things to do, mostly rewriting including the climax or at least right before it… *sigh*

And I had better get on it.

That has been my editing this week. Part of this can be attributed to the fact that I am helping clean the house because my dear Grandma Marianne and Aunt Jennifer will be here on Wednesday and we are redecorating the bedroom that I share with 5 of my 6 sisters.

With that, I leave you a couple of awesome songs to ponder. They belong to two of my male characters. The songs are both love songs, but different in tone, as well as what they convey about the personalities of the two men I think they belong with.

 

Ohh yes. A good quote about procrastination.  And I even know the speaker!
(If you click the quote, there’s a good post Liam recently did about being productive. It’s not the post this quote came from, though.)

 

DFTBA!

10 thoughts on “The Editing Diaries– Procrastination and Music

  1. Yay for procrastination!

    Um…oops, I didn’t mean to say that. That was, um, my keyboard malfunctioning. Abruptly. And in a really odd way. But it’s fine now, I promise. I think. I hope. Possibly.

    Hehe, rewriting is hard. Mostly what I’m doing is rewriting as well, and I’m kind of getting tired of it. Is it acceptable to edit a story out of order, so I can work on things LATER in the story? Mmm, somehow, I think, because of the way I have to change the story, that might cause more problems down the line. I guess I’ll keep going the way I am, heheh… Anyway, good luck with your rewriting!
    And I feel you about the action scenes. I have this one duel scene and I don’t have any idea how I’m going to fix it…especially since, I really know nothing at all about swords or dueling or anything of that sort and I kind of don’t want to research…

    And I like that quote, hehe.

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

