Inquisitive Wednesday– Quirky Questions for Readers, Part 11

It’s Inquisitive Wednesday! On IW, I answer 5-10 questions, be they from awards, tags, or reader input.

I’m going to be answering the 55 Quirky Questions for Readers tag. 55 questions about books!

"You want weapons?We're in a library! BOOKS! The best weapons in the WORLD"- The tenth Doctor. Why i love him so much. He loves books
Tenth Doctor reads books. Books are cool.

Here we are. The last of the Quirky Questions tag. 11 weeks of questions from this tag come and gone.

*moment of silence as we remember how much fun we’ve had on this journey*

Okay, moment’s over. Here we go!

51. Are there any books that you’ve been avoiding?

The Fault in Our Stars. For numerous reasons, okay?

#not okay
What I will be if I read TFIOS.

52. Name a book that made you angry:

Like… it was the author’s intention for me to be angry or like this book was so wrong and it made me angry?

Love it - Hulk giving Thor a tap on the shoulder after the battle

Mistborn: The Final Empire. Mainly because I was so upset about a certain character’s death. But you could say I’ve “grown up” since then and if I reread Mistborn now, I wouldn’t get angry.

Honestly, I can’t remember being angry at any other books. I remember being annoyed with characters, but that’s not the same thing.

53. A book I didn’t expect to like but did:

Okay, let’s get things straight. I don’t read books I’m not interested in. So… to answer this question, we must go back to my school days.

He has no idea how to get back to where he came from and has been traveling through space and time just by pushing random buttons. | "Doctor Who", As Told By Someone Who’s Never Seen It
Hope none of you get motion sick…

 

Ah, Misty of Chincoteague!

I was made to read a section of this in my literature book (4th or 5th grade, I think). Reading was actually my least favorite subject in school I blame the comprehension checks at the end of each section. So, I read the excerpt from MoC, probably expecting to dislike it like the majority of the strange excerpts that curriculum required of me. Long story short, loved it, got the whole book from the library, read several more by that author for a long time.

54. A book I expected to like but didn’t:

Initially, when she hears she wasn't invited to Aurora's christening, she plays it cool.

This list is long…

Great Expectations

Jane Eyre

Paper Towns

The Hardy Boys series.

A Series of Unfortunate Events: A Bad Beginning 

Mariel of Redwall  I actually just lost interest in it when I had it checked out from the library, didn’t finish it, and unfortunately, stopped checking out Redwall books after that…

I could honestly keep going for a while. But I’m going to stop there.

55. Favourite guilt-free guilty pleasure reading:

“Guilty-pleasure reading”… why not just ask if I’m reading anything particularly scandalous? That’s what that question implies. Answer to that question that I just asked: no.

I guess the answer to this question would be The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. I love these stories so much (they deserve it) and yes, they do have their scandalous moments and possibly-excessive swearing, but I don’t feel bad about reading them.

 

And there you have it. 55 questions about books answered. This has been a lot of fun.

http://whatshouldwecallnursing.tumblr.com/post/23494600009/when-i-get-pulled-to-another-unit#

But I suppose everything must come to an end.

Tell me your answers to these questions in the comments! And is everyone’s list of books we wanted to like but didn’t as long as mine?

Doctor Who Nine Rose Tyler bye
DFTBA!

 

14 thoughts on “Inquisitive Wednesday– Quirky Questions for Readers, Part 11

  1. Books I’m avoiding. Um… Well, the last Heroes of Olympus book, because the fourth one was not so great, and I’m being nice there. (And that was one I expected to like, but didn’t.) Hunger Games. (Because…I don’t like the concept, and I have a habit of avoiding books when they get popular, and those got mighty popular among the teens at my church. So.) Any book that will make me cry. I don’t know how my friend got me to read The Book Thief. Oh wait, I was totally ignorant of what I was getting into, and by the time I was aware of it, I couldn’t put the book down.
    That’s all I can think of.

    Books that made me angry…um…I can’t think of any? I’ve gotten a little frustrated with books, but not really angry with anything, or at least not that I can remember.

    Ones I liked but didn’t expect to… I guess some of the books that were required reading, also? In…sixth or seventh grade, I had to read All Creatures Great and Small, by James Herriot. I read it expecting to be bored, but I actually liked it so much that I got two of the sequels.

    As for ones I expected to like, but didn’t… House of Hades, by Rick Riordan. This one other book I got… Will of the Empress, or something like that? (It apparently wasn’t even worth remembering the name.) Pretty much all of the later Maximum Ride books. Ugh.

    And lastly… um…none?

    • Oh dear. I haven’t read The Book Thief, but I’ve heard about it. You have my sympathy for not knowing what you were getting into…
      Oh, I love James Herriot! I read most of those books, I think.

  2. BAD, BAD WORDPRESS! STOP EATING MY COMMENTS!

    *seethes*

    As I was SAYING…

    51. Yes. But I don’t actually remember specifics right now.

    52. Several. The most memorable two would be The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks and The Wicked and the Just. Also, certain recent American Girl books with bratty characters. Sad.

    53. Again, several. School books, mainly. The Bronze Bow comes to mind, as does The Golden Goblet. I also didn’t expect to like Ben Hur overall as much as I did.

    54. Yes, but again, I don’t really remember specifics.

    55. Old American Girl books and whatever picture/beginning chapter books happen to be lying around that I just somehow end up reading… *coughs* Basically anything that should be ridiculously young for me that I still read. Especially after a hard-core YA book.

    And that’s the end, huh? Aww. Farewell, book questions.

  3. Great post! I don’t know if any book I’ve read has ever made me angry (I avoid the ones that have the potential to do so). I mean sometimes I get annoyed at the lack of backbones and ridiculous over-drama and the “how-on-earth-did-this-get-published?!” but that’s mainly me being a book snob so I’ve probably never read a book that has made me angry…like full-on steam and ears angry.

  4. 51. Ohhh… not particularly. I mean some that i haven’t “found” the time to read, but none I’m outright avoiding.

    52. Oh man, there was this one book, a Dear America diary, but I forget which one it was now, that this one scene just made me so mad. This older sister who was in charge of watching her siblings while her parents were gone in their country house had gone outside into a snowstorm to get firewood, and when she came back all the doors were locked, and her little siblings were sitting inside laughing at her as she stood there, freezing, pounding on the door. That just mad me so mad, I actually made fists.

    53. The Giver. I wasn’t sure what i was expecting… but I certainly didn’t expect to love it. I gulped down The Giver in a day.

    54. Oh, The Eyes of the Mind, or something like that. it sounded good, but the writing was terrible. Also Looking for Alaska. Again, It sounded good, and there were good moments, and had it been written from a Christian perspective could have been quite good… but I’m getting rid of my copy. Also Mark of Athena. After Reading that, i kind of lost hope for the rest of the series. Still read the rest, but it just went down hill from about 2/3 through MoA onward.

    55. Hmmm… difficult one. I honestly can’t think of any.

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

