Inquisitive Wednesday– Quirky Questions for Readers, Part 10

It’s Inquisitive Wednesday! On IW, I answer 5-10 questions, be they from awards, tags, or reader input.

I’m going to be answering the 55 Quirky Questions for Readers tag. 55 questions about books!

"You want weapons?We're in a library! BOOKS! The best weapons in the WORLD"- The tenth Doctor. Why i love him so much. He loves books
Tenth Doctor reads books. Books are cool.

I’m going to answer 5 questions at a time. I’m up questions 46-50! Next week is the last set of these questions!

Here we go!

46. Most money I’ve ever spent in a bookstore at one time:

…30-ish dollars. On Amazon.com.

If only there were this much money for books…

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it?

doctor who gifs |

Almost never. Once I’ve started reading it, I may skim a bit. But for the most part, skimming ruins the experience for me.

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book halfway through?

It would have to be pretty bad… if I’m really bored, or if there’s excessive gore or too much scandal…

Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice, published on this day in 1813, is one of the most quotable novels in the English language, full of unforgettably witty repartee that signals attraction, revulsion...

49. Do you like to keep your books organized?

Yes. Series go together and authors go together. Sorted by color is nice, too.

an accurate depiction of Enjolras 'helping' Marius plan his wedding.  "I think we'll put the flowers over ther-" "I don't care, just make them red."

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once they’ve been read?

*GASP* I keep them forever!!!

Unless I didn’t like them. Then they can go.

But NO! THE BOOKS ARE MINE!!!

Smeagol, how can you not love the smeagols
BOOKS ARE MY PRECIOUS!!!

 

However… I might need more bookshelves.

 

What about you, reader-peeps? Do you skim? Do you give away books you’re done with? What would make you stop a book halfway through?

DIY Tardis Costume Tutorial
DFTBA!

 

14 thoughts on “Inquisitive Wednesday– Quirky Questions for Readers, Part 10

  1. 46. Hmm…probably $60 after a birthday. 😉 Of my own hard-earned money? I don’t know. Not more than $20, probably.

    47. Occasionally, and then 95% of the time I regret it because I get bored.

    48. Same. And the picture made me laugh.

    49. Absolutely, although the organization scheme varies. Typically series books go together, then genre.

    50. I keep them, of course! I very rarely buy books unless I’ve already read them and I thought I’d like to read it again. If someone gives me the book, it’s another story, but I rarely get rid of books.

  2. Ah! next week is the last? so sad…
    i actually just came across a book i quit reading 2/3 way through. There were no side plots, no intrigue… it was very boring, i can’t believe i stuck to it that long.

  3. That version of Pride and Prejudice is the best! I just decided to stop trying with a book- I’ve never really done it before, and I am now having major guilt about it.

    • YES.
      It wasn’t until after I watched the movie that I really loved the book. Reading the book was half school assignment and half bribe, as in I had to read the book and then I could watch the movie, but it was also high school reading. 🙂

  4. Love the GIFs (aye, bookshelf shortage is a problem these days). I definitely skim (but not as much as before). I’m reading game of thrones right now and OH MY DAYS. I’m forcing myself not to skip because I know that something horrible happens every other page and I can’t take that amount of spoilers without dying! XD (I also keep my books. I love rereading).

  5. 46. I’m not really sure. Maybe 20?

    47. I try to not skim, but I have occasionally found myself skimming through boring scenes.

    48. Same.

    49. I organize it by size and series as much as possible, so the biggest books are on the left, and the thinnest/smallest on the right, but still keeping series together. Sometimes I try to keep authors together as well, but not always.

    50. Hehe, the same.

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

