Inquisitive Wednesday– Quirky Questions for Readers, Part 9

It’s Inquisitive Wednesday! On IW, I answer 5-10 questions, be they from awards, tags, or reader input.

I’m going to be answering the 55 Quirky Questions for Readers tag. 55 questions about books!

"You want weapons?We're in a library! BOOKS! The best weapons in the WORLD"- The tenth Doctor. Why i love him so much. He loves books
Tenth Doctor reads books. Books are cool.

I’m going to answer 5 questions at a time. I’m up questions 41-46! Here we go!

 

41. The longest I’ve gone without reading:

Hmm… I think it was probably a couple of months. Reason? Too obsessed with writing and not really interested in what I was reading (it was one of those times I was trying to read 4 books at once) and kind of forgot to read.

...

42. Name a book you could/would not finish:

Um… Paper Towns by John Green. No, I am not going to tell you why.

I never explain anything

43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading?

Well… I think it's very obvious that it's impossible not to love ten!!

Unfortunately, the television. But only if I’m not deeply interested in the book and am interested in what’s on.

44. Favourite film adaptation of a novel:

Ooh! Um… there are too many to choose just one! Pride and Prejudice (the BBC 1995 one), Inkheart, The Lord of the Rings… Okay, probably Pride and Prejudice with LOTR as a close second. They aren’t exactly comparable, anyway.

Deal with it, dear. | Mr Darcy | Pride and Prejudice | gif
LOTR doesn’t have Colin Firth.

 

45. Most disappointing film adaptation

Eragon.

Why

Okay, it wasn’t that bad… but I’ve only watched it once and haven’t had much of a desire to see it again.

Alright, what about you, readers? Let me know your answers to these questions in the comments!

 

DFTBA!

16 thoughts on “Inquisitive Wednesday– Quirky Questions for Readers, Part 9

  1. The BBC’s adaptation of Pride and Prejudice is AMAZING. I haven’t found one to beat it yet. I totally understand not finishing Paper Towns. I read it, but if I’m going to be completely honest, I forgot what it was about immediately, and elements didn’t appeal to me either. Of course, you probably have different reasons, but it’s good to know I’m not the only one who wasn’t overly impressed. I’m nervous about trying any of his other books in case I don’t like them. He has such a fan base now. Loving seeing your answers to these questions!

    • Thanks!
      The “elements didn’t appeal to me” would be why I didn’t finish Paper Towns. Possibly different elements than yours, but still.
      Yes, the BBC adaption is awesome!

  2. Longest time without reading. Hmm… I honestly can’t remember. I’m sure there have been times I went without reading much, but… eh. Maybe a few weeks?

    Can’t think of any books I wouldn’t finish off the top of my head. There are few I haven’t finished, but I’ll probably go back and read them later. Just not yet.

    Does How to Train Your Dragon count as a favorite film adaption? Heh heh heh…

    And most disappointing… Ender’s Game. Definitely that one. Though the soundtrack is awesome.

  3. The adaptation of Pride and Prejudice topped anything the book was like! Hmm…longest time I’ve not read a book is probably about three weeks (I just…even then I was reading trash. There’s something wrong with me). A small part of me wants to read Eragon but I’ve watched the movie a gazillion times (it is probably the most common movie to come on Film 4) that I’ve grown sick of it. Blergh.

    • The Eragon book is pretty good, but the series went downhill from there. Still, there are thousands of Inheritance Cycle fans (I still claim to be one), so maybe you should read the book. 🙂

  4. I have no idea how long I’ve gone without reading…in recent times, a week or so.

    Distractions. Hm. Annoying music from siblings and/or the TV (especially if it’s Dora’s “vamanos” song). That’s about it. When I was much younger, I shocked a lot of people by reading at my brother’s basketball games. Apparently that should be impossible…

    Books I haven’t finished… Well, there was one called Deliver Us From Normal. Why didn’t I finish it? To quote what I wrote about it on Goodreads: “I got to page 33 and decided this book was foolish and idiotic and I didn’t have time to waste on it. Ew.”

    By the way, the Mary Poppins thing made me laugh. 🙂

  5. HA. I agree with Eragon being dismal…but omg omg! You liked Inkheart too?!! I feel like I’m the only one who actually enjoyed that movie. XD DUSTFINGER. He was great (but then I do like that actor, hehe). I think I’ve gone months and months without reading. When I finished school I was really obsessed with writing and I hardly ever read at all. <– Very bad life decision, Cait. TUT TUT. Now I struggle to write because I just want to read. 😉

  6. Robyn! Alas, only now did I see your comment on my blog. I do not recall getting an email notification for your comment, and I certainly did not get the email of which you spoke…

    I loved Pride and Prejudice and LoTR as adaptations too, but you are the first person I’ve heard to say something positive about Inkheart. I have read the book, but I haven’t seen the film, so maybe I should.

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

