Inquisitive Wednesday– Quirky Questions for Readers, Part 7

Hello, reader-peeps!

Where no Peeps have gone before......
I consider none of you Red-Shirts, I promise!

 

It’s Inquisitive Wednesday! On IW, I answer 5-10 questions, be they from awards, tags, or reader input.

I’m going to answer the 55 Quirky Questions for Readers tag. 55 questions about books!

"You want weapons?We're in a library! BOOKS! The best weapons in the WORLD"- The tenth Doctor. Why i love him so much. He loves books
Tenth Doctor reads books. Books are cool.

I’m answering 5 questions at a time. Here we go!

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?

(gif set) "no no no no no" - Bilbo. He certainly says no alot

I don’t like giving those sorts of reviews. For that matter, I don’t really like giving book reviews at all…

32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you choose?

Elvish.

Okay, fine. German. I have grand dreams of one day reading Inkheart in it’s original German.

33. Most intimidating book I’ve read:

Intimidating? I don’t know… Les Miserables was… loooooooooooong. That’s pretty intimidating to finish.

 

34. Most intimidating book I’m too nervous to begin:

Two and also because they are long. The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan and The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson.

They’re probably both shorter and more engaging than Les Mis, though. What am I so scared of?

 

35. Favourite Poet:

J.R.R. Tolkien. Yes, he totally counts.

My favorite poem. It’s from The Fellowship of the Ring.

Upon the hearth the fire is red,
Beneath the roof there is a bed;
But not yet weary are our feet,
Still around the corner we may meet
A sudden tree or standing stone
That none have seen but we alone.
Tree and flower and leaf and grass,
Let them pass! Let them pass!
Hill and water under sky,
Pass them by! Pass them by!

Still around the corner there may wait
A new road or a secret gate,
And though we pass them by today,
Tomorrow we may come this way
And take the hidden paths that run,
Towards the Moon or to the Sun.
Apple, thorn and nut and sloe
Let them go! Let them go!
Sand and stone and pool and dell,
Fare you well! Fare you well!

Home is behind, the world ahead,
And there are many paths to tread
Through shadows to the edge of night,
Until the stars are all alight.
Then world behind and home ahead,
We’ll wander back to home and bed.
Mist and twilight, cloud and shade,
Away shall fade! Away shall fade!
Fire and lamp, and meat and bread,
And to bed! And then to bed!

And that’s all for this week! What about you guys? What books are you intimidated to start? And do you have a favorite poet (I will totally accept Dr. Suess as an answer)?

DFTBA!

35 thoughts on “Inquisitive Wednesday– Quirky Questions for Readers, Part 7

  1. 31. I agree with your gif, there, and for the life of me I cannot remember that guy’s name. It’s not Frodo, is it?

    32. How about any foreign language? Although currently, I wish I could read better in Dutch… I decided yesterday that someday I will read The Hiding Place in Dutch. (I’ve been contemplating whether or not Dutch was the original or English was, since apparently Corrie spoke and wrote excellent English, German, and Dutch.)

    33. I have no idea…ummm, Ben Hur was pretty intimidating. But I think The Iliad was probably worse. Basically old books that are very long.

    34. To Kill a Mockingbird or Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea, probably.

    35. Yeah, let’s go with Dr. Seuss.

  2. 31. I somewhat I agree with the gif.. I don’t like doing them, but I will, if I really didn’t like the book.

    32. I have been wanting to read The Hobbit in Latin for ages. It came out a couple of years ago.

    33. Most intimidating book I’ve read? Eldest was pretty intimidating, and it took me years to finish. Besides that… I’m not sure…

    34. That’s easy. War and Peace.

    35. Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. I have been in love with his poetry since I was like 7, and my Mom read me Paul Revere’s Ride.

    • 32. Wow! That would be awesome.

      33. I, oddly enough, read Eldest in three days. It took me over a year to read Les Mis, though…

      34. Aha. Tolstoy. 🙂

      35. Oh. Longfellow is wonderful, too.

  3. I think giving negative Reviews does sometimes make sense. Also it’s funny. Some some people don’t like to make fun of a book, but I clearly do 😈
    Elvisch! Yes, I’d also like to learn that language too 🙂 But probably most people just study and don’t speak it… At the moment I’m reading the Silmarillion and after a few pages I was totally sucked up by this stuff 😀
    If you’re up to German, I’ll be always open to help you in anyway learning it. Just spontaneously saying this, but I think it would be an interesting experience. I know very less English speakers who want to learn German, so this sounds interesting 😀 German isn’t as difficult as you might think, and I’m writing this comment to encourage you 🙂
    I didn’t even know that Inkheart was popular in English speaking countries 😛 For me it would be strange to read it in Englisch 😀

    • Agreed. Negative reviews make sense occasionally.

      Thanks! I’ve been learning German with the Duolingo program. I’ve enjoyed it so far, but there are a few things that I stumble over. Any help you could give would be appreciated, thank you. 🙂 Would you mind if I emailed you?

      Oh, Inkheart is one of my favorites! It’s really what got me interested in fantasy (after Lord of the Rings).

      • I think I wouldn’t mind being emailed. I still love emails, even though I get a lot of them since I blog 🙂 I just think I need to know where they problems are, then maybe I could help you. *Heart pondering* I’ve never done something like that, but I will do whatever I can 🙂
        Inkheart is great, isn’t it? And I’m still wondering, if I should start a “Read all the books quoted in Inkheart”-Challenge some day…also it was a Cornelia-Funke-writing contest which brought me to writing 🙂 (You’ve kind of opened I canal with this. I once made a presentation at school telling mainly useless stuff about Cornelia Funke 😛 )

        P.S.: What does DFTBA actually mean? I think I’ve seen this on several blog posts on your blog and I don’t understand the meaning :mrgreen:

        • Excellent! Thank you! 😀 I’m not sure when I’ll email. Probably as soon as I figure out how to explain my problem… XD

          Ooh! That would be an awesome challenge! I also should reread Inkheart. It’s been too long!

          DFTBA means Don’t Forget to Be Awesome. It’s a phrase coined (or at least made popular) by John and Hank Green (John Green the author and his brother).

  4. Wow, Inkheart was originally written in German? So cool! Anywho book I’m definitely TOO intimidated to start is Ulysses (how do people read this start to finish? o.O) aaaand favourite poem is probably Simon Armitage or Carol Ann Duffy. ^.^

  5. I don’t like writing negative reviews, either. I always feel so guilty, you know? Also, I would totally want to be able to read something in German because I’m actually learning German in school right now. Old English would be nice, too, so I could read Beowulf in its original form. I really want to read Les Miserables and The Way of Kings but they are so daunting. Someday, someday…

  6. I smile every single time I see the “Books! The best weapons in the world!” gif. Fantastic. 🙂 I’m actually reading Les Mis right now… only on the first book thing (honestly, couldn’t we just have chapters?) and I know almost everything you could know about M. Myriel. Jeez it’s long. 🙂 YES. Read in Elvish! That would be wonderful!

  7. I hate giving nagitive reviews too. I get that.

    Elvish totally counts as a foreign language.

    I’m too chicken to read Les Mis, so I admire you. I have a fear of getting lost in it and never found again.

  8. I want to read books in German, too. I am slowly working on it, though. Emphasis on the slowly part.

    I don’t know that there are any books that I’m too intimidated to start… No wait. There’s this one that my mom found on the bookshelf and told me I might want to read. It’s called The Chronicles of Amber or something like that, and it looks pretty big, but it’s actually like a ten-book volume…? I have no clue why I’m intimidated to start it, but I am. So I’ve procrastinated from it.

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

