Awesome Announcement and Beautiful Books #3– Let’s Talk About Editing

So…

I FINISHED THE FIRST DRAFT OF LASER!!!

EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP!

…Actually, at the moment, the done feeling hasn’t hit yet. I just feel kind of numb.

BUT! Because I finished, I am going to talk about the story now! Not constantly, but some.

For starters, I would like you to know that the “My Creations” page has been updated to include a synopsis for LASER.

Second… I am linking up with Beautiful Books! On to the questions!!!

1. On a scale of 1 (worst) to 10 (best) how well do you think this book turned out?

Optimistic 7.5. I’m aware that it has some places I want to improve and need to fix, but I think it turned out decent. (I’ll probably think different thoughts once my alphas get ahold of it…)

2. Have you ever rewritten or editing one of your books before? If so, what do you do to prepare yourself? If not, what’s your plan?

I have edited a novel before. Only one. And… let’s not talk about that. That particular baby of mine is getting an overhaul.

As for preparing myself, I think the best thing to do (learning from the last time…) will be to remember that editing is for improving. For making things better. Not because it’s “bad” but because it’s good and could be awesome. (Basically, keep myself excited about editing and remember that the book is not “bad”.)

3. What’s your final wordcount? Do you plan to lengthen or trim your book?

164.5 pages. Which adds up to just over 41k.

Yeah, I will be lengthening…

4. What’s are you most proud of? Plot, characters, or pacing?

Plot, I think. I hope I was able to weave it well, without many loose ends. It seems like I did, though.

5. What’s your favourite bit of prose or line from this novel?

OH! That’s like asking me to pick a favorite character! You aren’t going to ask that next are you? Um…

“You know,” Stephen began, breaking the silence, “I think you and Nick would get along pretty well.”

Isabella stopped walking. “Seriously? Do I know you?”

“I’m dead serious, Isabella.” Stephen said, continuing to walk. “You two are a lot alike.”

She sprinted to catch up, then fell into the same walking rhythm as her twin. “How? Name one instance where Nick Elliot and I are even remotely alike.”

“Easy. You both read the Classics.”

Isabella rolled her eyes. There were big differences between reading the Classics, being made to read the Classics, and reading the Classics but liking Jane Eyre and Great Expectations.

(Please don’t kill me over that last line. Third-person limited POV– those are Isabella’s thoughts and opinions.)

6. What aspect of your book needs the most work?

Some foreshadowing and filling in the blanks and adding more of the stuff I wanted in there but forgot about. (Yes, that’s three aspects, but still.)

7. What aspect of your book is your favourite?

The romance plot. I think it turned out really well and EEP I SHIP IT!

8. How are your characters? Well-rounded, or do they still need to be fleshed-out?

Isabella, my MC, might be okay. My villain might be okay. Other than that… most of them need some fleshing out, I think, or at least another hint or two about their lives.

9. If you had to do it over again, what would you change about the whole process?

Um… I don’t know. I mean, this turned out really well. This is the fastest that I’ve ever finished a novel first draft. (New record is 4 months!) I don’t know that I would change anything.

10. Did anything happen in your book that completely surprised you? Have any scenes or characters turned out differently to what you planned? Good or bad?

SO MANY THINGS SURPRISED ME! And the ones I can think of at the moment, I can’t list. Spoilers.

Scenes turned out differently (I didn’t expect it to finish so fast…). My characters mostly surprised me by their actions.

And everything turned out for the better.

11. What was the theme and message? Do you think it came across? If not, is there anything you could do to bring it out more?

Oh dear gracious… um… some might say one theme is that looks can be deceiving. Or that you don’t have to always be afraid of being hurt and judged. That’s a weird theme, Robyn…

I don’t know. I hope it came across… whatever it actually is.

12. Do you like writing with a deadline (like NaNoWriMo) or do you prefer to write-as-it-comes?

I like writing with a deadline when I know I can come out ahead. Other times, it’s just stressful. Goals are nice, but a strict deadline will make me literally lose my mind.

13. Comparative title time! What published books, movies, or TV shows are like your book? (Ex: Inkheart meets X-Men, etc.)

Ooh!

I have no idea.

Um…

Pride and Prejudice meets… some urban fantasy thing where they protect humans from supernatural critters… Supernatural? I don’t even watch Supernatural

14. How do you celebrate a finished novel?!

I start by announcing the accomplishment. Then I enjoy the euphoria before the bitter part of the bittersweet sets in.

I DON’T KNOW! You’d think I would. I mean, I’ve been writing for ten years…

I guess I’ve never actually celebrated finishing a novel. I’d be happy and excited and then start looking for the next project. I already know what the next one will be this time… I can’t stand to not be working with words.

15. When people are done reading your book, what feeling do you want them to come away with?

The “THAT WAS AWESOME ROBYN HOODE IS MY NEW FAVORITE AUTHOR I MUST READ ALL HER BOOKS” feeling. Nod.

Okay, seriously… I want them to be satisfied. And come back for more. And I want them to have just read a book they will recommend. I want them to think it was a good story. That was basically the same answer but less egotistical-sounding.

And that’s it! And it’s late! And I’m going to bed! Tell me about your latest exploits of awesomeness in the comments! And here, have celebratory cookies!

DFTBA!

 

17 thoughts on “Awesome Announcement and Beautiful Books #3– Let’s Talk About Editing

  1. Congrats on the completion of L.A.S.E.R.! I’m so proud of you! When it comes to self editing, I can say from experience, that it’s not easy. I do know that your mom will help you like she always does and I know that I am behind you 100000% on what you do.

    I do have a question though….

    How on earth do you know how much background, if any, to give on your MC?

    I ask because I am having that issue with one of my stories that I’m trying to write and I’m kind of at a stand still on what to do about it. HELP!

  2. First of all, YAAAAAAAY again! Second of all, it is NOT a weird theme, got it? Third of all… *points out you don’t really have to worry about an ego*

    And fourth: GET TYPING! I mean, um. Please?

  3. YAY HOW EXCITING!!! This sounds just splendid 🙂 You deserve plentiful chocolate.
    I read your synopsis and it sounds awesome and I want to read it!!
    One of the stories I’ve just started is about Supernaturalness and a team of people who fight evil paranormal stuff. Though mine is sort of comedy?

    And I’d love to discuss Classics with Isabella. Personally, I adore Jane Eyre and Great Expectations, and I’d be interested to see what she considers to be “good” classics.

    • THANK YOU! ❤
      Ooh!

      Honestly, I think Isabella is a lot like me as far as the Classics go. We love Jane Austen, tried Les Miserables, want to keep trying Dumas, and what little of Anna Karenina we've read, we've enjoyed, but it got pushed to the "finish later" list. The difference being that she has little tolerance or desire for Dickens, while I am willing to try Dickens again if I ever get the time.

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

