BLAST THE CHRISTMAS MUSIC!

It’s joyful and triumphant.

You know what is hard to dislike? Christmas music. I mean, you may have certain songs that you prefer over others, but the chance that you aren’t listening to some cheerful tunes this holiday season is unlikely.

You know what song my mom absolutely cannot stand, though? The Little Drummer Boy.

The story behind her hatred of this tune is that, when she was a girl, her little sister (my dear Aunt Jennifer) would play it over and over. Eventually, my mother just couldn’t stand the song anymore. This is fairly understandable, as too much of anything is not good for people.

But I love that particular song. Now, I don’t like the movie Rankin-Bass did a million years ago. It’s sad and violent and just…

(Quick Note: Music liked or disliked is not hereditary. Or if it is, I’ve got the recessive genes.)

What I like most about the song is the message.

Come they told me, pa rum pum pum pum
A newborn King to see, pa rum pum pum pum
Our finest gifts we bring, pa rum pum pum pum
To lay before the King, pa rum pum pum pum,
rum pum pum pum, rum pum pum pum,

So to honor Him, pa rum pum pum pum,
When we come.

Little Baby, pa rum pum pum pum
I am a poor boy too, pa rum pum pum pum
I have no gift to bring, pa rum pum pum pum
That’s fit to give the King, pa rum pum pum pum,
rum pum pum pum, rum pum pum pum,

Shall I play for you, pa rum pum pum pum,
On my drum?

Mary nodded, pa rum pum pum pum
The ox and lamb kept time, pa rum pum pum pum
I played my drum for Him, pa rum pum pum pum
I played my best for Him, pa rum pum pum pum,
rum pum pum pum, rum pum pum pum,

Then He smiled at me, pa rum pum pum pum
Me and my drum.


One day, I want to write a new story based on this song.

DFTBA

 

4 thoughts on “BLAST THE CHRISTMAS MUSIC!

  1. I love Little Drummer Boy, too… My favorite Christmas song is God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen, though. Especially the Jars of Clay version.

    My least favorite Christmas songs, though, I don’t dislike because they’ve been played over and over… I mostly just dislike them because I get them stuck in my head for the entire Christmas season every single year, and it gets on my nerves. I suppose it kind of comes down to the same thing, though, doesn’t it? Heheh.

  2. I love the Little Drummer Boy! Have you heard the Pentatonix version? It’s spectacular: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qJ_MGWio-vc
    They also do an awesome Carol of the Bells.

    My favorite Christmas carols stem from the excellence of the arrangements that I have sung or played. For example, I ADORE Go Tell it On The Mountain, because I’m just learning this awesome jazzy version of it for the piano, and my church always finishes the Christmas Eve service with a rousing rendition. I also love some less traditional Christmas songs, like Christmas Lullaby from Songs For a New World (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HfRxfSpV9eE) and Breath Of Heaven (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6RVTZDgcpqM).
    But what really DEFINES Christmas in our house is playing Lorie Line’s I Saw Three Ships. That means tree trimming and cookie making and present wrapping… 🙂

    Now you make me want to go listen to all my Christmas CDs!

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

