Inquisitive Wednesday– Christmas Favorites Tag

It’s Inquisitive Wednesday! Yes, I realize it’s actually Monday…

And there are too many fun tags! (I’ll try to do the one you nominated me for soon, Erin!)

This Wednesday Monday, I’m doing a tag about Christmas made by Kathryn@ Hidden Orchards. Thanks for such a fun tag!

1.  What’s your favorite part about Christmas?

I’m going to say that my favorite part of Christmas is what is real Christmas spirit– when you are just happy and cheerful just for the reason that it’s Christmas. And hopefully, at least some of that joy comes because of the real reason for Christmas, celebrating the birth of the Savior.

2.  Does your family have any special Christmas traditions?  If so, which is your favorite?

We do have a few traditions. Decorating the tree may possibly be my favorite. While I don’t do much of the actual decorating, I enjoy pulling out ornament, putting hooks on them, and then handing them to a hobbit to put on the tree. And we have snacks while we decorate, specifically summer sausage, cheese, and crackers (I can’t help thinking this sounds kind of German. Does this sound German to you guys?)

3.  Everyone knows that music is best part of Christmas.  What’s your favorite Christmas carol?

I don’t know. I love so many… O Come, O Come Emmanuel is lovely. So is Do You Hear What I Hear. And The Little Drummer Boy. I’m not actually sure that one is sacred…

4.  What’s your favorite Christmas song (i.e. non-sacred carol)?

Um… Grandma Got Ran Over By a Reindeer is fun. What does it say about me that that’s the first one I named? I love Carol of the Bells, too.

 

5.  What’s your favorite Christmas story or novel?

Besides the actual Christmas story (Christ’s birth), I’m going to have to say The Best Christmas Pageant Ever by Barbara Robinson. It’s an MG novel about four troublesome siblings who get into the church Christmas pageant with the lead roles.

 

6.  What’s your favorite Christmas cookie?

Oh… I love spritz cookies, but I also like jam thumbprints, and chocolate snowballs. Oh! And gingercookies!

7.  Do you shop at Christmastime?  Where’s your favorite place to do Christmas shopping?

I don’t usually shop at all much less at Christmas. But I love going to the mall around Christmas, with everything decorated.

 

8.  What’s your favorite Christmas treat?

Peppermint Bark. Which may be just because I can’t have it anymore at home because of a hobbit’s mint allergy. Mint M&M’s are lovely, too…

Okay, non-mintness would be dark chocolate. Just the little Hershey’s bars I get in my stocking, nothing fancy.

9.  Do you watch Christmas movies?  What’s your favorite one?

I seems like I already answered this question in one of my last posts, but I’ll answer it again. Yes, I watch Christmas movies and it’s one of my favorite Christmas things to do. My favorite… How The Grinch Stole Christmas, both the animated and non-animated ones.

10.  We all know how much fun setting up the Christmas tree can be.  Of course, there are always those ornaments that you made in first grade that you would rather forget but they go on the tree anyway.  Do you have a favorite ornament?  What’s the story behind it?

A favorite ornament… well, there was my First Christmas Ornament, but it broke. It was a wooden rocking-horse painted mostly red. But my other favorite ornament is actually a set of ornaments with each of the Twelve Days of Christmas things on them. We only have a few of them left, unfortunately.

And that’s it! I want to hear about your Christmases in the comments! DFTBA!

20 thoughts on “Inquisitive Wednesday– Christmas Favorites Tag

  1. First of all…hey! How dare you mix up the days so! It already feels like a Wednesday, I didn’t need you to confuse me more…

    Second of all…did you perhaps forget to finish answering the first question? 🙂

    Now, to answer some of these.

    1. I guess the moments where I forget about everything else around Christmas and remember the true reason in awe and wonder. Those moments are rare, sadly–usually only one to three times a year–but that makes them all the more special.

    2. Yes…the most lasting ones are the “Adornaments” for the tree (I’ll get to that later), the birthday party for Jesus on Christmas morning, and parents putting a doll dubbed “Baby Jesus” in a cradle under the tree late on Christmas Eve so it’s there when we get up in the morning. Also, yes, that food sounds German…

    3. I think O Come, O Come Emmanuel. I have fond memories with that song. Namely, the year I was “auditioning” to sing a solo in the Christmas pageant the elementary schoolers always did and one of my a-year-older-than-me friends sang the same song. I don’t know why other than that…it’s just beautiful for some reason. 🙂

    4. Carol of the Bells is definitely a favorite. But pretty much my long-lasting favorite is Brandon Heath’s “The Night Before Christmas.” I…may or may not listen to it all year. Beautiful, beautiful song. (And I just heard another one of his–“Just a Girl.” That one’s pretty amazing, too!)

    5. Uh…we had this book about Mary or something…uh…*goes to find it* *emerges 10 minutes later after asking her mom* AHA! https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/383628.Mary_s_First_Christmas Now I want to read it again. Thanks for that.

    6. Uh…anything with icing?

    7. Sometimes. Not too much. Target or Joann’s if I’m making something.

    8. I have no idea. Chocolate something probably.

    9. Been there, done that.

    10. Ornaments! Oh yes, we have a varied collection…they all have to do with Jesus in some way. (That’s the rule.) From paper angels to those blue balls with wisemen on them that we only have like 3 left of to the manger scene I hot-glued together at age…eight or something to delicate glass crosses my mom’s gotten over the years, we have it all. But going back to the “Adornaments”–this is an old set of ornaments with names of Jesus on them and a little thing to read about it inside. We take turns picking one and reading it then hanging it on the tree. Of course there’s only 12 of them and 7 of us kids now (and the youngest one can’t read), so that makes it interesting, and the cardboard/whatever they’re made of is falling apart a bit, but they’re still special. 🙂

    THE END!

  2. I actually thought it was Wednesday until you mentioned that it wasn’t. XD But anyway . . .
    I have to say, I think my favorite part of Christmas (or rather, the Christmas season) is the music. It’s the only time of year when I ever get to hear Louis Armstrong on the radio! But if I had to pick a favorite Christmas song, it would probably be “O Come, O Come Emmanuel.” It’s kind of mind-blowing to think that people have been singing that song for about 900 years, no?

    Happy Christmas!

    • Oh dear… I’ve known all day it’s Monday. xD

      It’s an awesome and beautiful song. It is indeed mind-blowing that it has been around that long. I think it would be neat to learn it in it’s original Latin.

      Happy Christmas to you, too! 🙂

  3. Oh man, I love peppermint bark, too…

    My favorite Christmas tradition is probably when we pull out all of the various Lego sets and each get to build one. Well, everyone builds one but the toddler and my mom, since she’s not big into Legos… Another favorite is making the calendar. For about four or five years now, my sister and I make/draw a calendar for my mom for Christmas. She always knows it’s coming, but I still love to watch her open it and see what we did differently this year.

    This year, we’re going on vacation with some friends for Christmas. The idea of having Christmas in a tiny RV sounds so crazy and so exciting, at the same time. Our “Christmas tree” is actually a pine-like bush that’s too small to even really put any decorations on it.

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

