Why Do I Write?

That is an excellent question and I’m not sure I can give a clear answer.
Some people write to share a story. Some people write to touch someone. Some people write to understand. Some write as catharsis. Some people write to tell a story that they would love. Some people write with hopes of fame and fortune.

All these reasons and more inspire men and women and children to put pen to paper.

So… why do I write?

I write because I cannot help it.

I write because it makes me miserable not to.

I write because I enjoy seeing people I created come alive.

I write because my favorite moments are when the story begins to write itself.

I write to distract myself from troubles of life.

I write because I want to one day be rich and famous (yes, yes, there are easier ways to get fame and fortune, but please don’t crush my dreams).

I write because I want to tell someone these stories, but I don’t want to make eye contact (kudos if you get that reference).

I write for the sheer addictive joy of it.

I write because I am afraid. Without writing, I do not know what I would do with my life.

I write for the joy of having a reader yell at me for an awesome plot twist.

I write because I cannot help it.

Ten years of writing has ingrained it into my soul. Without a notebook and a pen, I feel lost.

14 thoughts on “Why Do I Write?

  1. You are amazing. YOU JUST TOTALLY ARE. I need to ask myself this question occasionally when I’m just despairing over writing eloquently, but it always comes back to…what your head will explode if you don’t write. So, you know, because I like my head where it is, I write. <– Definitely a good enough reason.

    • πŸ™‚
      It’s a John Green reference. I like his vlogbothers videos and he said in one of them that writing is a profession for introverts who want to tell you a story but don’t want to make eye contact.

  2. Ahh, this is something that for some reason I always avoid thinking about, and I don’t even know why. I always just think I write because I love it and I do it, but the reasons, I never think that I’m able to list everything? You know? Mmmm…

    BUT ANYWAY, FANTASTIC POST.

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

