Strike While the Iron is Hot

There’s something I have recently learned and it’s something that I have to tell myself every day.

Strike while the iron is hot.

When I’m inspired to write, excited about what comes next, that’s when I need to write. That’s when I need to put pen to paper and let my soul pour out onto the page. I can check my email, Twitter, and my usual blogs first, but I need to be quick about it.

I need to write.

So, why is it so easy to ignore these promptings from my inner editor? When my inner editor is excited, it is much better than when she is crabby and telling me to quit writing and get a job as a librarian. And lately, my inner editor has been pretty happy. She likes the story and the way it’s turning out and I haven’t been panicking as much about writing.

Why is it so much easier to procrastinate than to just write?

Maybe part of the problem lies in the above sentence ” I can check my email, Twitter, and my usual blogs first, but I need to be quick about it.” I allow myself to “just check things really quick”. What defines “really quick”? When does it end?

Enter the conundrum of the procrastinator. A friend and I refer to procrastination as Lord Procrastination– a devious villain with minions of Distraction.

I am a procrastinator. Both of my parents are natural procrastinators (at least I get it honestly), but genes are no excuse.

A writer must write or he (or she) ceases to be a writer.

That’s just logic.

Honestly, I have no idea why I procrastinate at something I love. I have no idea why I get what I call Writer’s ADD (*writes 2 sentences* Oh, look! Twitter! And Pinterest! And that blog I haven’t checked in three months! I should update my blog. SQUIRREL!).

I do know that I need to teach myself to write when I can. I need to teach myself to strike while the iron is hot and not let myself get distracted. I need to be accountable for myself.

I have a goal. I want to finish LASER by the end of NaNo. As I write this, I have approximately 108 pages/27k words to reach 50k. I have approximately 21 days left of NaNo. That’s about 5 pages a day that I have to write. 1250 words. And that’s just to get to 50k. My story may be longer.

It’s a fearless, hopeless optimism. I want to finish it in time, but I don’t know that I can.

I do know this. If I allow myself to procrastinate and not write when I do have inspiration, I will have to write without inspiration. And that isn’t as fun or productive.

I have to strike when the iron is hot.

 

How’s NaNo going for all you? Let me know in the comments!

DFTBA

 

 

 

24 thoughts on “Strike While the Iron is Hot

  1. Oh yes… I find myself being excited for a scene and I’ll write two sentences, and then I’ll just kind of…stop and stare at my keyboard blankly, or I’ll go browse Pinterest or something, even though I’m very inspired for the scene. It makes no sense at all.

    Boy. 108 pages? Wow. I don’t think I’ve ever been able to write that much in a notebook in that short of a time before. Of course, I have written a lot in notebooks, but usually over a long period of time…

    Anyway, NaNo is going pretty well for me. I’m just shy of reaching 36 thousand words.

  2. SQUIRREL. YES. OH GOSH. YES. I totally understand.
    I do get very focused and zoned in on my writing…but for me it’s kind of like a reward process? Like I HAVE to write or else I get mad at myself. Hehe. So I do duck off the check blogs/twitter/emails but I always have to hit my word count first. But heh, that is why I write really fast. I like zone in and get my draft done, then I’m free to just squirrel around the internet. I’m saaaad.
    But YES. Writing while the inspiration runs is definitely needed! I plotted my book for NaNo in October and I soooo desperately wanted to write it. I was worried by the time November came I wouldn’t be enthused. It worked out, but I was definitely less enthused then when I plotted it. *shrugs*

    • I have to write too, but I’m not quite at the point where it stops me from procrastinating.

      Oh! Don’t be sad! Have cake! And books! And then in a few weeks, you can revise or write another story! 😀

      Yes, yes, yes! I had the initial idea back in April for mine. And then when I was having so much trouble with Shifting Sands, I decided to start LASER. It’s worked so far. (And I am NaNo-Rebelling, since I started LASER back in September. But hey! I’m writing!) 🙂

  3. Uhg, this is so me! And not just with writing, with other things I enjoy to.
    Like math. And no, I’m not kidding about that.
    NaNo is going fairly well.
    Haven’t written a word today, but I’m getting to that 🙂
    Just doing that “quick” blog check…

  4. I think it is a good idea to strike when the iron’s hot, but some days I just won’t be that excited about writing, and I think it’s important to also be able to write on those days. Someone once said “I write when I’m inspired, and I see to it that I’m inspired every morning at 9 o’clock”. Basically I think it’s good to make the most of every spark of inspiration, but also be ready to plug away without inspiration if you need to.

    It so happened that I am visiting your blog today on business, not in order to procrastinate (rare, for me, I know). I just started my NaNovel, and I was thinking it might be a good idea to plot out my story using that formula you mentioned several weeks ago, so I am on a quest to find that post. (I just got a little sidetracked with this post, but hey this was useful too)

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

