Inquisitive Wednesday– Quirky Questions for Readers, Part 4

(I realize, as I write this post to schedule, that November 5th is Guy Fawkes Day. Which means nothing to anyone outside the UK. Look it up if you don’t know about it. But rest assured that I shall endeavor to burn something in my story to celebrate, even if it’s a candle.)

Arcanine spitting flames
I’m American, so I don’t actually celebrate Guy Fawkes day, at all…

 I’M BACK!!! I RETURN FROM MY HIATUS WITH SHINY NEW WORDS (that I can under no circumstances discuss at this time)!

AND IT IS LOVELY NOVEMBER! My feet are constantly cold. If anyone knows where my slippers are, I’d appreciate it if they’d tell me. And November means NANOWRIMO! I hope everyone’s novels are coming along beautifully!

It’s also Wednesday. And that means…

It’s Inquisitive Wednesday! On IW, I answer 5-10 questions, be they from awards, tags, or reader input.

I’m answering the 55 Quirky Questions for Readers tag. 55 questions about books!

"You want weapons?We're in a library! BOOKS! The best weapons in the WORLD"- The tenth Doctor. Why i love him so much. He loves books
Tenth Doctor reads books. Books are cool.

I’m going to answer 5 questions at a time. Here we go!

16. Do you dogear your books?

Heavens no! If you do that, you leave a crease on the corner. If you do it enough to the same page, the corner of the page falls off! The horror!

17. Do you write notes in the margins of your books?

Nope! Unless it’s my Bible.

18. Do you break/crack the spine of your books?

Yes, actually. My most favorite sound is the crack of a hardback book being opened for the first time. (And now I am slightly ashamed.)

19. What is your favourite language to read?

Prose. I mean, Poetry is nice, but often requires some concentration to fully appreciate it.

20. What makes you love a book?

You know, I’m not sure. I think maybe…

The story. I know that a lot of people say the characters, but it’s what happens in the story that makes me love it.

Characters are still very important, though.

That’s it for this week! DFTBA! favorable odds

13 thoughts on “Inquisitive Wednesday– Quirky Questions for Readers, Part 4

  1. I think I remember hearing about Guy Fawkes day. *shrugs* Maybe I’ll try to burn something…

    16. *coughs* Yes. I try not to if it’s a new book, though. I’m scared of “damaging” new books. I’ve gone back to using bookmarks to mark my place, but if I find a good quote, I fold down the page. Not enough book marks for that!

    17. Same as your answer, here. (I’ve gotten really good at fitting tiny notes in the margins of my Bible…I figured out if I write sideways, it works much better. 😉 )

    18. NO! Not unless it’s getting really hard to hold it open without it being “cracked.”

    19. When I saw that question I thought, “Uh…English?” but your answer cleared it up. Same here.

    20. It depends for me. Usually I guess it’s the best-done element of the book that makes me love it. In The Scorpio Races, it was the writing and the worldbuilding. That was one of the very few books that I decided worldbuilding was the best part. But I could almost feel the island, so it fascinated me. In the Gallagher Girls series, however, it had to be all the awesome spy scrapes they got themselves into. And the humor. The humor was great. So it just depends, I think.

    • Well, you know what I burned.

      16. For shame. 😉 (please notice the post-it note comment below)
      17. Oh yes. I also highlight and underline and those more so than note taking.
      19. I think the answer was supposed to be something like English.
      20. Your answer is probably more accurate than the one I gave. 😉

      • Seeing as I only wrote 212 words on this Guy Fawkes day, there was not much opportunity to burn something. (In other words, it didn’t happen.)

        16. Noted. (They’re expensive, though, and I don’t have any. My mom zealously guards hers. One dares not filch her post-its. I could use scraps of paper, I suppose, but…folding pages is so much easier. It’s just paper guys. My favorite books are well-used, not quite falling apart, but well-used. I don’t throw them on the floor or anything…but folding pages? Not a crime in my book. Scribbling, yes, tearing pages, yes, but folding? …okay, getting off the soapbox now.)

        17. I tried highlighting when I was younger. With…normal markers. Now I stick to underlining or drawing a box…

        19. Ah. Well. That’s a bit of a strange question…

        20. Well, thanks, I guess. 🙂

  2. We actually have Guy Fawkes Day over here as well, heh, maybe it’s something to do with the Commonwealth.

    I’ll be honest. I dog ear books. I commit that horrific crime. I know. *cringes*

  3. I burned 18 candles for Guy Fawkes day 🙂 Well, technically for my birthday, but what ever. 🙂
    I love opening a new book. Or an old book.. old books small so wonderful, but the feel of opening a new book…

  4. I wince even thinking of dog earing a book. Who does that? I’ve gotten some like that from the library and I think it is very sad.

    Spine cracking. Ouch. I do it sometimes on accident. My mum is a book worm and she is one of those who thinks it’s a crime to leave a book lying open spine up. She passed that on to me.

    HOW IS NANO GOING?!

    • Oh, yes. Very sad. 😦

      I usually just do it the first time the book is opened and not really anymore.

      NANO IS GOING VERY WELL! THE STORY IS GOING VERY WELL!

      HOW IS NANO GOING FOR YOU?

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

