Inquisitive Wednesday– Quirky Questions for Readers, Part 3

 

It’s Inquisitive Wednesday! On IW, I answer 5-10 questions, be they from awards, tags, or reader input.

 

I’m answering the 55 Quirky Questions for Readers tag. 55 questions about books!

"You want weapons?We're in a library! BOOKS! The best weapons in the WORLD"- The tenth Doctor. Why i love him so much. He loves books
Tenth Doctor reads books. Books are cool.

 

I’m going to answer 5 questions at a time. Here we go!

11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone?

Not much.

doctor who gifs |

12. What is your reading comfort zone?

Honestly, my comfort zone of reading is fantasy. You can stick any other genre in the world inside fantasy…

#psych
…except contemporary.

13. Can you read on the bus?

What bus…? OH! You must mean the 15-passenger van my family drives! No, I can’t read in it.

.

14. Favourite place to read:

In the kitchen while cooking dinner or on my bed. Just about anywhere.

.
No doubt about it, I am Twilight Sparkle. Or at least her twin sister.

15. What’s your policy on book lending?

I’ll lend e-books in a heartbeat. With physical copies… you can borrow it, but for the sake of all that is sane, you must return it! YOU MUST!

suspicious chicken gif Pollito Despicable Me 2 Imgur
I’ve got my eye on you…

That’s it for this week! Tell me your answers to these questions!

DFTBA.

 

 

33 thoughts on “Inquisitive Wednesday– Quirky Questions for Readers, Part 3

  1. I’m commenting just because I’m impressed you wake up so early. But since I’m here, I may as well answer the questions.

    11. Outside my comfort zone? I dunno, it depends what my comfort zone is. Usually when I read out of my comfort zone, my comfort zone just broadens to encompass the material.

    12. Pretty broad these days. I’m currently reading a history book (“The Third Reich in Power” by Richard Evans — excellent book) a biography (“Leni” by Stephen Bach) and a fantasy novel (“Inkspell” by Cornelia Funke). I’d say all are within my comfort zone, though the former two wouldn’t have been a couple of years ago. I read all types of fiction. I’m even starting to enjoy poetry. However, there are certainly things outside my comfort zone. A few examples would be: erotica, paranormal romance, instruction booklets.

    13. I… *can*. Slowly. Painfully.

    14. On the rocking chair in the middle of the living room. Except that if I read there my sisters are bound to be making a racket. It’s always going to be a trade-off between comfort and noise.

    15. I lend books pretty generously, but mainly because I’ve never had a bad experience with poor returners. My friends all return my books pretty quickly. I’m more wary about lending books to adults, because adults, in my experience, are much less good on the return policy.

    • Yes, those three are outside of my comfort zone as well (despite the fact an argument could be made that my current WIP is actually Paranormal Romance).

      I have had only one bad book lending experience, but it stuck with me. I lost my copy of Eragon…

      And now… I hate to burst your impressed attitude bubble, but I do not get up that early. I wrote this post last night and scheduled it. But thanks for the comment! I like comments. 🙂

      • Well, I think paranormal romance is a genre that could conceivably make its way into my comfort zone, if done well, but it’s not there yet.

        Ah, bad luck. I’d lend you my copy, but you’re on the other end of the globe.

        Well, I guess the next best thing to waking up early is being smart enough to schedule posts so you don’t have to get up early. (I don’t get up that early either, I just saw this because, as I said, I’m on the other side of the globe)

  2. Same to question 11! I never read out of my comfort zone (never do anything out of my comfort zone even). I just stick to fantasy and contemporary, mostly YA and occasionally “classics”.

    To question 13, I cannot read on the bus :/ I wish I could but I get really bad headache if I read on any type of transport, bus, car or train.

    Love reading your answers 🙂

  3. Yay part 3!
    I can read in my family’s suburban, and basically anywhere. I love reading in the kitchen while cooking as well. 🙂
    Honestly, if one doesn’t read while cooking, one losses about 2 hours worth of reading time. Besides, stirring no-bake cookie batter waiting for it to come to a rolling boil takes AGES, and is incredibly dull.

  4. 11. More often now than I used to, but still not all that often.

    12. Historical. Not contemporary so much anymore unless it’s Juvenile Fiction. (YA contemporary is too…icky for me a lot of times now.) Starting to read more of the dystopian/lighter fantasy stuff too. Just because…usually less icky stuff. Or, a different kind of icky stuff, but one that’s more manageable.

    13. Yeah, what bus indeed… Absolutely, I can read on the bus. Not in my dad’s smaller car, but that’s because I sit up front next to whomever is driving and feel rude if I read. On long car trips, I can usually only last about an hour before I need a break from all that difficult eye concentrating, but I don’t easily get carsick. Yay!

    14. Outside on the covered patio on the nice squishy sofa. But just last week I read while walking around an aquarium. (What? It was the end of the book! You couldn’t expect me to wait five hours to read it, could you?)

    15. I…haven’t actually lent books much, but that’s because people rarely ask. And usually, it’s library books. Because my friend or my sister comes up, sees my lovely full library book shelf, and promptly asks for one or two or three of the library books I’m done reading. Definitely makes returning library books on time a little trickier, but generally it’s been okay. Makes me a little more nervous though…

  5. I’m trying to read outside of my comfort zone, but it’s really hard. It helps when my best friend lends me some of her books (since she doesn’t really read fantasy, so anything she gives me is out of my comfort zone…). That was how I read The Book Thief.

    I don’t like lending books out to people unless I seriously trust them. Mostly because they’ll never ever give me the book back—or they’ll give it to me in horrible condition. I’m not sure which is worse.

    I used to get carsick from reading in the car, but I’ve more or less outgrown it. I can’t read on windy roads, though.

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

