Hope Unquenchable

 

Do you guys know what today is?

It’s Hobbit Day!

 

lefantomeducinema lord of the rings gif
From The Lord of The Rings, of course!

Hobbit Day is September 22nd because that is the date of Bilbo and Frodo’s birthday.

So, what am I going to do for Hobbit Day?

Second breakfast!

Click here to see what the pros and cons of dating a hobbit would be!

I’d like to watch The Fellowship of the Ring later. At the very least, I will be watching this (multiple times):

I will be reliving some of my favorite bits of the book. And I will be fangirling over Sam Gamgee because he is my favorite character.

 Yes, I said Sam. Not Legolas. Not Aragorn. Not Frodo, Gollum, Legolas, Gimli, Legolas, Galadriel, Legolas, Gandalf, Legolas, Merry, Pippin, Arwen, Eowyn, or Legolas! My favorite character is Samwise Gamgee.

No, he’s not strong or clever. But isn’t that one of the points in LOTR– even the smallest person can change the course of the future? Heroes don’t have to be strong, clever, or well-known. Sam (all the hobbits, really) was from The Shire—a place in the middle of nowhere full of simple people. Sam ended up going on the quest to destroy the Ring because he was caught eavesdropping.

(Mild spoilers for The Lord of the Rings past this point. Continue at your own risk.)

There are many things I love about Sam.

 I love Sam’s optimism.

One does not simply walk into Mordor! Hilarious!

Gotta love Boromir’s little soliloquy about walking into Mordor. But he was right (for the most part—please note that Frodo and Sam actually did just walk into Mordor). Frodo knew that the quest would probably take his life. I don’t think Sam realized that until the end. But he still remained optimistic. Even after the Ring had been destroyed and Frodo and Sam think that it really is the end of them, Sam makes the cheerful remark that maybe someone would tell the story of how Frodo destroyed the Ring (please note that Sam just mentions Frodo).

 I love the way Sam interacts with Gollum.

Possibly my favorite part in The Two Towers is when Sam and Gollum are arguing about cooking rabbits, herbs, and PO-TA-TOES. Sam just doesn’t trust Smeagol. He sees Gollum as a decrepit, disgusting murderer that can’t be redeemed. Of course, we all admire Frodo for believing otherwise, but ultimately, Sam was right.

 I love Sam’s loyalty.

Sam proves that when the days are darkest that's when you find out who your true friends are.

“But I am going to Mordor.” “I know that well enough, Mr. Frodo. Of course you are. And I’m coming with you.” (The Fellowship of the Ring, ch. 22)

Sam had more than one opportunity to go home and leave Frodo to the quest. Frodo even encouraged him to go home at least once. But Sam chose to keep going. Sam chose to follow his friend wherever it lead him, even if it was Mordor and Mount Doom.

 Did you know that Sam has an elven name? It’s Harthad Uluithiad. Hope Unquenchable.

That really sums up Sam. All throughout the story he is sure that there is some hope. It is not the end. Even when it is the end, there is still good that could be had. Frodo should keep going.

In the movie version of The Two Towers, Frodo, in despair, asks Sam why they should keep going: “What are we holding onto?”. Sam answers, “Because there is some good in this world, Mr. Frodo, and it’s worth fighting for.”

Samwise Gamgee is Hope Unquenchable. And that is my favorite thing about him.

Happy Hobbit Day, guys. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I must go tend to my hobbits.

If you can get through this video without laughing hysterically, falling head over heels in love with Orlando Bloom, or having to use the bathroom within 5 seconds, I applaud you! But, you're also probably a robot... {Orlando’s last day on the set of The Hobbit gifset}
The hobbits…

 

 

23 thoughts on “Hope Unquenchable

  1. Yay Sam! He is quite spectacular, and I think it’s no mistake the gets the final scene in the movie of Return of the King.
    I haven’t read the books in a while (wait – it’s been… at least over 4 years! GAH). But I have seen the films recently and I’d say that my favorite characters have to be Sam and Pippin. Definitely. They’re just such normal, relatable little hobbits.

  2. I adore Sam, for all the reasons you listed. All he wanted was a quiet Hobbit life. Marry Rosy. Have tons of kids and his own garden. But he gave it all up because Frodo needed him, and he never thought of himself, just his friends. Sam is the greatest friend ever.

  3. Hobbit Day is a thing? How did I not know that! Haha, that’s awesome. I confess though, I’ve never read the books, and I am woefully behind on the films. ;-(

  4. I love this, because Sam really doesn’t get enough appreciation. I don’t much like Frodo, but I do love Sam–he just deserves it. Like you said, he takes on all sorts of horrible stuff he doesn’t have to, just because he wants to help others and be there for his friend and do the right thing. He was always humble and provided some much-needed lightness when nothing but darkness was going down. Also, even when Frodo’s a jerk and sides with Gollum over him, Sam’s there for Frodo. You don’t see loyalty like that very often.

    Good to know about Hobbit Day! I’d never heard of it before, but any excuse for second breakfast sounds like a brilliant day to me. Haha.

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

