So It Begins!

Welcome to the first of my dragon posts and the first chance to enter the giveaway!

Before we dive into this, I have to tell you that the giveaway will be USA only. I’m sorry to all international readers. You are still welcome to take part in the games and stuff, though.

So! If you haven’t already figured it out, I love dragons. Big ones, small ones, some as big as your head (Kudos to the Captain Americas who understand that reference.)

Did you know that there are dragon stories all over the world? Seriously! ALL OVER THE WORLD. China, Europe, South America, the US, Greece, ancient Babylon… and what do you think good ol’ Nessie in Scotland’s Lake Ness is? And then there are lots of modern dragon stories that are cool. The Hobbit. How to Train Your Dragon, books and movies. Dragon Rider by Cornelia Funke. Eragon (the first book, anyway) by Christopher Paolini. I’m sure you guys can name more.

I wanted a dragon when I was in my early teens (I still want one). But they aren’t easy to acquire, it seems. I love writing dragons, reading dragons, and seeing dragons.

So, when I went on vacation and saw this…

Dragon

 

I was delighted beyond reason.

 

So here is where the giveaway comes in. I am giving away a book by Ken Ham. (Look him up.) For one of the entries, you must guess where I saw the literate beastie pictured above.

Other entries involve following this blog, following me and/or Ken Ham on Twitter, doing the tag (I don’t have it made up yet. It’ll be here on the 13th, hopefully.), and linking to this giveaway. (You have to click on the link to get to the giveaway.)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Have fun! And may the dragons favor you (because they may eat you if they don’t)!

So! What other dragon stories (modern or not) can you guys think of?

24 thoughts on “So It Begins!

  1. Ooh! Seraphina by Rachel Hartman and the Dragons in Our Midst series by Bryan Davis, are good. (I need to read the last book of the sequel series to DiOM). The Dragons of Pern series by Anne McCaffrey (Kind of adult, but the concept is really cool). Aaaaand … I just read a fairly good one today – The Dragon Within by Melody Jackson.

    Dragons are epic. I have at least one in every fantasy book or series I’m working on.

  2. I’m guessing you saw him in a library somewhere. 😛 My favorite literary dragon is probably the White Dragon in “Roverandom.” The one-sided show-down with the Man in the Moon was the funniest part of the book. 😉

  3. Well, I just mentioned pretty much the only “dragon book” I’ve read. So… but I’ll mention it again: Handbook for Dragon Slayers by Merrie Haskell. 🙂

    That is a lovely dragon!

  4. A book reading dragon! *Squeal* Love it!

    I did not realize there were so many dragon stories all over the world. I guess, that makes sense, though. So, since one of my friends calls me Nessie, does that mean I’m actually a dragon? 😛

    My guess is you saw him at that creation museum in Kentucky.

    The Enchanted Forest Chronicles are some of my very favorite dragon books. Read them twice (thrice, maybe?) and will definitely do so again. Absolutely loved them.

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

