For the First Time in Forever…

…I am linking up with The Broke and Bookish Top Ten Tuesday!

Every Tuesday, they do a book related list of specific top tens. This week has more to do with stories than books. The topic is…

TOP TEN FAVORITE MOVIES OR TV SHOWS

I am going to twist this by narrowing it down to my top ten Disney movies. In no particular order:

1. Frozen

Everyone likes Frozen. How could you not? There’s not much to say about this– everyone else has already talked about it to death. As for me, I shall just continue to make bad puns about it and sing Let It Go at the top of my lungs.

2. Pirates of the Caribbean

The first one. Oh, my goodness, I haven’t watched in so long. Why haven’t I? It’s an amazing movie! Pirates! Treasure! Jack Sparrow and his uncanny ability to act like he knows what he’s doing the whole time! The music!

3. The Lion King

This is the first movie I ever saw in a theater. My parents say I sat staring at the screen and reaching for popcorn without taking my eyes away from Simba’s plight. They also say they could not get me to understand that Simba and the lion I called “Young Cub” were one and the same (I think I picked up Young Cub from a preview).

4. Mary Poppins

It’s a jolly holiday with Mary. And the music. It’s supercalifragilisticexpialidocious.

5. Lilo and Stitch

As a child, I was rather appalled  by this movie. I hated that Lilo and Nani fought like they did. Now that I’m older, I see it’s not as bad as I thought it was and it’s a rather touching story. Sniff. Anyone have a tissue?

6. Tangled

Rapunzel was the first fairytale I can remember being told. Tangled is a wonderful version of that story. And the music is great.

7. The Princess and the Frog

I love this one mostly for the characters instead of the story. Tiana’s friend Lottie is one of the best characters– she’s spoiled but not rottenly so. She still genuinely cares about other people despite the fact her daddy gives her anything and everything she wants. And you can’t beat that Southern Belle accent.

8. Mulan

I’ve always loved this movie. The music. The culture. The characters. Mushu. ‘Nuff said.

9. Wreck-it-Ralph

I could watch this movie almost every day and not get sick of it. This movie amazes me. The details are awesome– I notice something new every time I watch it. And it’s a good story. The plot twists really amazed me the first time I watched it. And it’s set inside an arcade among video games. While I don’t play video games often, that was awesome to see.

10. Princess Protection Program

I admit it, I am not above watching Disney Channel movies. Some of them are really good. Others are meh. This is one of the good ones, in my opinion. Basically, when her country is invaded by a dictator, a princess is forced to go under cover in Louisiana to save her mother and country. And then she has to learn to fit in with all the “normal” people. The other character, who is actually the main character , I think, has to help the princess fit in, despite the fact she starts out thinking that the princess is snobby and stuck-up and everything. So, yeah, it’s girly and a high-school story, but I still love it.

What are your favorite Disney movies? Aren’t the music numbers one of the best things about Disney movies? And am I the only one who will admit to watching Disney Channel movies? Am I alone in that?

 

 

41 thoughts on “For the First Time in Forever…

  1. THESE ARE THE BEST! I agree about Lilo and Nani. They were actually perfectly normal and awesome siblings and it’s almost sob worthy how hard Nani was trying to raise her little sister. Plus: aliens. Awesome. I LOVE FROZEN TOO. I listen to them soundtrack every time I go in the car. I’m sure my family hates me, but the songs are aaaawesome. LET IT GOOOOO! LET IT GO!!!!!!!

  2. I loved Mulan. Tangled was funny, but by the time I watched it (a month ago, maybe?) I’d already heard all the jokes, so… I liked Frozen, but I didn’t think it was “OH MY GOODNESS, THE ABSOLUTE BEST DISNEY MOVIE EVERRRR!!!!” like everyone else seems to. I seriously had the “It’s a jolly holiday with Mary” song stuck in my head all day yesterday for some reason, and yeah…I do like Mary Poppins.

    Haven’t seen the rest of those. But then, up until a couple years ago my parents were pretty much convinced Disney was horrible so we kids never watched many of those “classics.”

    Also, Cars was the first movie I ever saw in a theater. My dad took me and the oldest boy. I barely remember it, and I’ve grown to like the movie a lot more over the years. 🙂 And actually, I’ve only been to see movies in theater four times, and two of those were on re-run days, so.

  3. My favorite Disney movie is the Cinderella with Brandy and Whitney Houston. I am behind and just saw Frozen (like two days ago) and thought it was pretty good. I do find it unfortunate that the “big” song from the movie is about hiding who you are from the world, but it is brilliantly done. Can’t go wrong with Idina, right?

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

