“Haiku.” “Gesundheit.”

Oddly enough, I am not talking about sneezes today. I am talking about my favorite form of poetry, the haiku. According to the internet a haiku is:

1. a Japanese poem of seventeen syllables, in three lines of five, seven, and five, traditionally evoking images of the natural world or

an English imitation of this.
 
Why do I love haiku so much? Because I can actually write them. They don’t rhyme and they can be sort of abstract. Here are some I wrote about a year ago.

 

 

Haiku: Word Wars

The time is chosen
My pen is ready to fly
Poised for words to come

Clock changes number
My hand races to scribble
Words pour from my soul

Time’s up! Start counting!
(I briefly wish I had typed.)
Yes! Words are many!

Take a little break
Let your brain have a breather
Want to go again?

I wrote these after doing word sprints for Camp NaNoWriMo. And speaking of Camp…
Today was July 1st and the first day of Camp NaNo! Yay! I am working on Shifting Sands. There will be updates to the word count meter soon. I’m not sure how many words I’ve written and I still want to write a bit more before I go to sleep.
DFTBA.
16 thoughts on ““Haiku.” “Gesundheit.”

  1. GO NANO. (That sounds like an epic chant, you know, plus it rhymes, which is awesome and ties in with your post about poetry. Buuut, not that your hiakus rhymed so I win the cookie there.) I don’t really understand poetry. 😐 I’m uneducated obviously.

  2. Wow. I’m astonished by your awesomeness in haiku form. I always loved haikus, too…besides being a fun name to say, they’re short. And to me short meant easy. Plus, I quickly figured out how to think in the 5-7-5 rhythm. So. Let’s see if I can come up with one about math (which I am supposed to be doing).

    AHHHHEEEMMM. *clears throat dramatically*

    Geometry is
    A mess of amazing shapes
    Fascinating, sure

    But when you bring in
    Algebra…things get messed up!
    Shapes and letters–no!

  3. Hehe, I haven’t written a haiku in a while, but I do remember a while ago when I first learnt about haikus I loved whipping one up in a few minutes. Quick and easy, and in my case always horribly bad. Enjoyed yours though! 🙂

    Oh no, I have not been stalking your blog and not been commenting until now, of course not, what makes you think that? 😛

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

