Writing the First Words

“There is something delicious about writing the first words of a story. You never quite know where they’ll take you.”

That quote is attributed to Beatrix Potter (though it’s very possible that it might just be from the film Miss Potter). It’s a lovely quote and relevant to what I’m doing today. I am starting a new story today.

Before anyone starts asking what it’s about, there’s something you should know. I will not be saying much about my stories on Spiral-Bound. I have learned, the hard way, that if I talk about my stories too much, I lose interest. And there’s little worse than losing interest in a perfectly good story. Trust that I will slip hints when I think “safe”, but beyond that, I’m afraid you will just have to wait until at least the first draft is done.

Back to the point. I’m excited about this new story. I plan for it to be a novel, YA, and I have been playing matchmaker for my two MCs forever (at least, since I came up with them about a year ago when they were going to be in a different story). And that is quite enough information for now, I think.

Oddly enough, I’ve had the main plot circumnavigating my mind for only a few days. I came up with it on Friday. While eating Dipping Dots. On a shopping trip with my aunt. (I will never have a good answer for “Where do you get your ideas?”.)

This is turning out to be a scatterbrained post… So. That’s it, for now.

DFTBA.

 

13 thoughts on “Writing the First Words

  1. HA! I remembered the acronym this time! I won’t forget!

    On another note…yes! New stories are lovely! Don’t wreck it–but the good news is, if you do, you can always re-write. (I’ve had new bits and pieces to go with a new story idea I got about a month ago swirling in my head all day…)

  2. Ooh, have fun with the new story! (I’m enjoying TCF, by the way.)

    I’ll never have a good answer for “Where do you get your ideas from?” either. The basic mystery for Noxumbra came to me while I was on a walk with my mom. And I want to say there was one time I got the idea for a plot twist while doing something really weird, but alas I remember not what it was.

  3. Oh, yum! Dipping dots! I’ve had them like…once. I’ll take ice cream in any form, so that’s fine. I get my ideas in the weirdest places. Always random. Mime won’t talk about her books either! She says it’ll jinx it for her…but me? The more I blather the more excited I get. x)

    • Ice cream in any form works.
      It’s crazy, isn’t it? One minute, you’re just walking along, maybe sweeping or doing dishes or eating and then all of a sudden, the lightbulb comes on and you have the best idea you’ve ever had! xD
      I envy you. I would love to be able to talk about my books on and on and just get more excited. I’d take part in Beautiful People Linkup if I weren’t scared of losing interest. (Maybe I will after first draft…)

Ooh! Are you going to leave a comment? I love comments! And I like replying to them, too!

